Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6199

Wednesday 20 October 2010

Vol cxli No 3

pp. 65–88

College Notices

Clare College


A memorial service for Professor Robert Charles ‘Robin’ Matthews, M.A., CBE, FBA, Master of Clare College from 1975 to 1993, will take place at 2.30 p.m. on Saturday, 20 November 2010, in Clare College Chapel. The Chapel will be open from 2.10 p.m. Guests are invited to join the Fellowship for refreshments afterwards. It would be helpful if those planning to attend could inform Christopher Webb, Clare College, Cambridge, CB2 1TL (email, tel. 01223 333218).

Downing College

Elected as Vice-Master from 1 October 2010:

Peter James Duffet-Smith, M.A., Ph.D.

Elected President from 1 October 2010:

Richard James Stibbs, M.A.

Elected Dean from 1 October 2010:

Kenneth James McNamara, B.Sc. Aberdeen, Ph.D.

Elected to the Henslow Research Fellowship from 1 October 2010:

Jimena Berni, M.S. UBA, Ph.D. UBA

Elected as a Fellow in Class C from 23 July 2010:

Rev’d Keith James Eyeons, M.A., Ph.D.

Elected as a Fellow in Class B from 1 October 2010:

Robert Keith Harle, M.A., Ph.D.

Timothy James Burton, M.A., M.B., B.Chir., Ph.D.

Jamie Thomas Alcock, B.A. Queensland, Ph.D. Queensland

Marta Morgado Correia, Ph.D.

Elected as a Fellow in Class B from 1 January 2011:

Alicia Hinarejos, B.A. Valencia, B.A. UNED, M.Phil. Valencia, M.Jur. Oxon, M.Phil. Oxon, D.Phil. Oxon

Elected as Bye-Fellows for the academical year 2010–11:

Nigel Allington, M.A.

Sean Matthew Aughey, B.A., LL.M.

Richard Berengarten, M.A.

Theresa Biberauer, B.A. Stellenbosch, M.Phil., Ph.D.

Rosemary Corrie Clark, M.A., Ph.D.

Stuart Eves, Vet.M.B.

Neda Farahi, Ph.D.

Victoria Jane Jones, M.A., M.B., B.Chir.

Peter Kitson, M.A., Ph.D.

Kerry Maunder, Ph.D.

Alexandra Morris, Ph.D.

Jonny Newton, B.Sc., M.Sc.

Jill Pearson, B.A., Vet.M.B.

Ian Sabir, M.A., Ph.D.

William Schafer, Ph.D.

Gareth Lee Taylor, B.A., Ph.D.

Michael John Owen Wakelam, B.Sc. Birm, Ph.D. Birm

Kamran Yunus, Ph.D.

Elected as Emeritus Fellow from 1 October 2010:

Margery Ann Barrand, B.Sc., Ph.D. London

Elected as Fellow Commoner from 1 October 2010:

Barrie Hunt M.A., M.Ed. Exeter

Elected as Fellow Commoner Emeritus from 1 October 2010:

John Geoffrey Hicks, M.A.

Gonville and Caius College

The College Council has elected the following into Fellowships with effect from 1 October 2010:

Paul Desmond Finn, B.A., LL.B. University of Queensland, Australia, LL.M. London, Ph.D. CAI, to a Professorial Fellowship for 2010–11, in virtue of the Arthur Goodhart Visiting Professorship in Law for 2010–11.

Sujit Pradin Sivasundaram, B.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. CHR, to a Supernumerary Fellowship in virtue of his six-hour College Lectureship in History.

Ignacio Leonel Lopez Franco, Magister, Licenciado Universidad de la Republica, Montevideo, Uruguay, Ph.D. T, to a Research Fellowship in Pure Mathematics.

Sarah Louise Howe, B.A. CHR, to a Research Fellowship in English.

David Motadel, B.A. University of Freiburg, Germany, M.Phil. PEM, to a Research Fellowship in History.

John David Sutherland B.A. Lincoln College, Oxford, D.Phil. Balliol College, Oxford to a Supernumerary Fellowship in virtue of his six-hour College Lectureship in Natural Sciences (Organic Chemistry).

New Hall (Murray Edwards College)


Salary: £22,272–£26,568 (subject to the outcome of a Pay and Grading Review)

Murray Edwards College is seeking to appoint a Development Officer (Communications and Alumnae Relations) to join its Development Office. The successful candidate will have excellent communication skills, sound organizational abilities, and will play an important part in developing the alumnae relations and external communications for the College.

For further particulars on the role and the application procedure, visit or contact the Murray Edwards Development Office (tel. 01223 762288). The closing date for applications is 5 p.m., 1 November 2010, and interviews will be held on 11 November 2010.

Trinity College

Elected into a Professorial Fellowship under Title D with effect from 1 September 2010:

Alexandra Marie Walsham, Professor of Modern History

Elected into a Staff Fellowship under Title C with effect from 1 October 2010:

Joseph Moshenska, on appointment as College Lecturer in English

Elected into Junior Research Fellowships under Title A with effect from 4 October 2010:

George Henry Booth, CL, for research in Theoretical Chemistry

Timothy Matthew Gibbs, CTH, for research in History

Peter Anton Kreuzaler, TH, for research in Pathology

Dmitri Levitin, SE, for research in Intellectual History

Fiona Rozanne McConnell, F, for research in Historical Geography

James John Michael Newton, CHU, for research in Mathematics

Woijcech Samotij, for research in Mathematics

Krisztina Szilagyi, for research in Islamic Studies

Elected into an Honorary Fellowship:

Sir Partha Dasgupta