Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6171

Wednesday 9 December 2009

Vol cxl No 12

pp. 373–420

College Notices

Fitzwilliam College

Elected into an Honorary Fellowship:

Christopher Lucan Pratt, M.A., ACIS

Elected into a Fellowship in Class A with effect from 25 November 2009:

Francis Knights, B.Mus., London, M.Litt., Oxon, Director of Music

Jesus College


Elected to Fellowships:

With effect from 1 December 2009:

Cecilia Mascolo, M.Sc., Ph.D., Bologna

With effect from 1 October 2010:

Shaul Tor, B.A., JN

King’s College

Elected to Fellow Commonerships:

Mr Mark Pigott CBE

Mrs Hazel Trapnell

New Hall (Murray Edwards College)


Murray Edwards College, Cambridge (formerly New Hall), welcomes applications for the post of Bursar and Fellow, to commence from March–May 2010, by negotiation.

The College is seeking an individual who will enhance the financial future of the College, ensure the estates strategy reflects the College’s long-term ambitions to provide residence for all students during their time at the College, and have a personal commitment to supporting the mission of the College, as a place of teaching, education, and research.

In June 2008, New Hall was refounded as Murray Edwards College, with a benefaction of £30 million from one of its alumnae. The College is entering a pivotal part of its history and plans to invest its energy and enhanced funds to enable the College to recruit women of remarkable potential through, inter alia, the consolidation and development of an outstanding Fellowship. Murray Edwards has a distinctive environment characterized by a pride in our students, a Fellowship that contributes widely to all aspects of College life, and the belief that nurturing individual potential will continue to produce graduates of exceptional abilities. Previous graduates include Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Dame Barbara Stocking, Professor Julia King, Polly Courtice, Tilda Swinton, Mishal Hussain, Sue Perkins, and Joanna MacGregor.

Founded in 1954, Murray Edwards College is one of the 31 Colleges in the University of Cambridge. It currently has 415 undergraduates and 110 postgraduate students. The College is led by its Governing Body of 56 Fellows, through the College Statutes and Ordinances, while an elected Council of four ex-officio members including the Bursar, nine elected Fellows, and three student members, holds delegated authority from the Governing Body to act as an executive body, implementing decisions through a committee structure. The President presides ex officio as Chairman of the Governing Body and the College Council.

The salary will be based on the experience and portfolio of the applicant, but it is anticipated it will be placed within the University professorial scale.

Application: for a job description please contact Mrs Jane Collins, PA to the President (email, tel. 01223 762227). An application should reach Mrs Jane Collins, PA to the President, Murray Edwards College, New Hall, Cambridge, CB3 0DF, no later than Tuesday, 22 December 2009. Applications should comprise:

a covering letter

a full curriculum vitae

the names of three referees. Applicants should ask their referees to write to Dr Jennifer Barnes c/o Mrs Jane Collins by the closing date. Applicants are requested to inform their referees that, under the 1998 Data Protection Act, the references they provide will be available to the subject of the reference if the subject should apply to the College’s Freedom of Information Officer.

Candidates will also be requested to complete an equal opportunities form which is sent out on receipt of an application. These forms are used for monitoring purposes and will not be seen by any members of the selection committee.

Murray Edwards College is an equal opportunities employer.