Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6560

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Vol cl No 2

pp. 3–17

College Notices


Hughes Hall

Elected to a Research Associateship from 10 July 2019:

Dr Sohaib Abdul-Rehman, B.S.E., LUMS, M.Res., ED, Ph.D., JE

Dr Farah Ahmed, B.A., Bristol, M.Ed., Ph.D., W

Dr Jonathon A. Coates, B.Sc., Northumbria, M.Res., Newcastle, Ph.D., Sheffield

Dr David S. Hall, B.Sc., Western, Ph.D., Ottawa

Dr Ellen Higginson, B.Biomed.Sc., B.Sc., Ph.D., Melbourne

Dr Kirsty Marie Hooper, B.Sc., Ph.D., Edinburgh Napier

Dr Alexander W. Justin, M.Sci., Imperial, M.Phil., Ph.D., HH

Dr Avîn Mirawdeli, B.Sc., Surrey, M.Sc., Ph.D., UCL

Dr Anna K. Schroeder, M.Math., Ph.D., St Andrews

Dr Amita Ummadisingu, B.Eng., BITS-Pilani, M.Sc., D.Sc., EPFL

Dr Nicole Wheeler, B.Sc., Ph.D., Canterbury


Elected to an Official Fellowship and College Lectureship in History of Art with effect from 1 October 2019:

Laura Suzanne Slater, M.A., York, Ph.D., K

Elected to a Bye-Fellowship with effect from 1 October 2019:

Justin Gerlach, B.A., D.Phil., Oxford

James Palmer Wade, B.A., Boise State, M.A., York, Ph.D., M

Queens’ College

Elected into a Research Fellowship in History from 1 October 2019:

Ruth Lawlor, M.A., Cork

Elected into a Bye Fellowship in Natural Sciences (Physical) from 1 October 2019:

Jaoa Miguel Rodrigues, B.Sci., M.Sc., Lisbon, Ph.D., Amsterdam

Elected into a Bye Fellowship in Engineering from 1 October 2019:

Christopher Clark, M.Eng., M.A., Ph.D., Q

Elected into a Bye Fellowship in Medical and Veterinary Sciences from 1 October 2019:

Paul John Bambrough, M.A., M.B., B.Chir., Ph.D., PET

Elected into a Bye Fellowship in Human, Social and Political Sciences and Economics from 1 October 2019:

Cristina Peñasco, B.Sci., Ciudad Real, M.Phil., Ph.D., Madrid

Robinson College

Elected into a Fellowship in Class C with effect from 1 October 2019:

Saul Edward Nassé, M.A., R

Elected into a Research Fellowship in Class D with effect from 1 October 2019:

Ignacia Arteaga, B.A., Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, M.Sc., Ph.D., UCL

St Edmund’s College

Elected as Fellow under Title A:

Dr Anna Spathis, M.A., M.B., B.Chir., M.D., EM, FRCP, MRCGP

Dr Gitanjali Yadav, B.Sc., M.Sc., Delhi, Ph.D., Jawaharlal Nehru

Elected as Fellow under Title B:

Dr Ana González-Rueda, B.Sc., M.Res., Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF), Barcelona, Ph.D., EM

Dr Peng He, B.Sc., Hong Kong, Ph.D., Caltech

Dr Elizabeth M. Tennyson, B.S., Wisconsin – La Crosse, M.S., Ph.D., Maryland – College Park

Elected as Fellow under Title F:

Dr Anna Gannon, Dottore in Lingue e Letterature Straniere, Milan, M.A., Ph.D., LC

Professor John Stanley Hill Gaston, M.A., B.M., Oxford, Ph.D., Bristol

Elected as Bye Fellow:

Dr Florian Urmetzer, B.Sc., Glamorgan, M.Sc., Ph.D., Reading

Dr John Zerilli, LL.M., ED, M.A., Sydney, Ph.D., Australian National University

Appointed as Senior Member:

Mr Daniel Pett, B.A., UCL, M.Phil., ED

Appointed as Associate (PDRA):

Dr Yuljae Cho, B.Eng., Korea, D.Phil., Oxford

Dr Samer Halabi, B.Sc., M.Sc., Beirut, Ph.D., ED

Dr Alicja Dabrowska, B.Sc., Southampton, M.Sc., Sheffield, Ph.D., Warwick

Dr Paul Noorlander, B.A., M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Leiden

Dr Hang Zhou, B.Eng., Hong Kong, Ph.D., Leicester

Dr Patrick Short, B.Sc., North Carolina, Ph.D., ED

Dr Haichang Lu, B.Sc., Peking, Ph.D., ED

Appointed as Research Associate (Von Hügel Institute):

Mr Rupert Shortt, B.A., Oxford

Rev’d Dr John McCabe, M.A., Oxford, M.A., Bristol, Ph.D., Chester

Rev’d Dr Isidoros Charalampos Katsos, LL.B., B.Th., Athens, D.E.A., Paris I, Ph.D., FU Berlin, M.Phil., Ph.D., PEM

Appointed as Research Associate (Woolf Institute):

Professor Emrah Efe Khayyat, B.A., M.A., Istanbul, M.A., Ph.D., Columbia

Dr Patrick Nash, LL.B., M.Sc., Ph.D., Bristol

Dr Katherine O’Lone, B.A., UCL, M.A., Queen’s, Belfast, M.Sc., Ph.D., Royal Holloway

Trinity Hall

The Governing Body has elected the following into Fellowships with effect from 1 October 2019:

Elected into a Research Fellowship (Class A):

Dr Adam Lebovitz, B.A., Chicago, J.D., Ph.D., Harvard

Elected into a Staff Fellowship (Class B):

Mr Jai Chitnavis, B.Chir., M.B., M.A., M.Chir., CHR

Ms Ingrid Schroder, M.A., Dip.Arch., PET

Dr Marcus Tomalin, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., R

Elected into a Fellow-Commonership:

Professor Ruth Schilling, M.A., Ph.D., HU Berlin

Professor Alison Liebling, B.A., York, M.A., Hull, Ph.D., TH

Elected into an Honorary Fellowship:

The Rt Hon. Lord (Angus) Glennie, PC, M.A., TH

The Rt Hon. The Lord (Norman) Fowler, PC, M.A., TH

Wolfson College

Elected to an Official Fellowship (Title C) from 18 June 2019:

Joanna Cheffins, M.A., N

Elected to an Official Fellowship (Title C) from 10 July 2019:

David Goode, M.A., FRSA

Elected to a Stipendiary Research Fellowship (Title BIIb) from 1 October 2019:

Chandrima Ganguly, B.Sc., Jadavpur, M.Sc., Indian Institute of Technology, M.A.St., Ph.D., MUR

Re-elected to a Junior Research Fellowship (Title BI) from 1 October 2019:

Adeeba Khan, LL.B., M.A., Ph.D., SOAS


Gonville and Caius College: Research Fellowships (four posts) in the Sciences or Arts; tenure: four years from 1 October 2020; stipend: £21,398 initially, plus benefits; closing date: 30 September 2019; further details:

Jesus College: Postgraduate Applicant Scholarships 2020:

Humanities and Social Sciences: Albert Goh and Elizabeth Coupe Scholarship (Masters, up to £4,000);

History or Historical Studies: Gurnee Hart Scholarship (Masters, up to £8,000);

Physical Science, Engineering or Mathematics: Embiricos Trust Scholarship (Ph.D., up to £13,500 per academic year for three years maximum; Greek, Greek Cypriot or British nationality or descent);

closing date for all: 24 March 2020; further details:

Murray Edwards College: Senior Tutor; tenure: from 31 March 2020; salary: £59,828–£69,331, depending on experience, at current rates; closing date: 21 October 2019 at 9 a.m.; further details:

Newnham College: Junior Research Fellowship in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; tenure: three years; stipend: £28,660 pre-Ph.D., £32,236 post-Ph.D.; closing date: 27 September 2019; further details:

Pembroke College: Abdullah Al-Mubarak Research Fellowship in Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies; tenure: from 1 October 2020; salary: £23,754–£26,715 at current rates; closing date: 11 October 2019; further details:

Sidney Sussex College: Stipendiary and Non-Stipendiary Research Fellowships in the Sciences, including Medical and Veterinary and certain of the Arts and Humanities; tenure: three years from 1 Sept 2020; closing date: 24 October 2019 (and 28 October for references); further details:

Wolfson College: Junior Research Fellowships, in any subject, under title BI (up to ten posts); tenure: one year from 1 April or 1 October 2020 (dependent upon funding), and may be renewed for a further two years; non-stipendiary, with dining privileges and annual research allowance; closing date: 7 October 2019; further details: