Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6173

Wednesday 6 January 2010

Vol cxl No 14

pp. 445–456


Graces submitted to the Regent House on 6 January 2010

The Council submits the following Graces to the Regent House. These Graces, other than any which is withdrawn or for which a ballot is requested in accordance with the regulations for Graces of the Regent House (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 107), will be deemed to have been approved at 4 p.m. on Friday, 15 January 2010.

1. That Professor Stephen John Young, of Emmanuel College, be reappointed a member of the Finance Committee of the Council to serve from 1 January 2010 until 31 December 2012.

2. That an Avik Chakravarty Memorial Fund for Physics be established in the University, to be governed by the following regulations:1

Avik Chakravarty Memorial Fund For Physics

1. The sum given to the University by Mr Satyendra and Mrs Chhaya Chakravarty in memory of their son, Avik Chakravarty, shall form a fund called the Avik Chakravarty Memorial Fund for Physics. The income of the Fund shall be used for the purpose of supporting postgraduate students at the Cavendish Laboratory (Department of Physics) researching in one or more of the areas of luminescence phenomena, cavitation, control of friction between moving surfaces, explosive initiation and nano-science, or in other new innovative projects.

2. The Managers of the Fund shall be the Head of the Department of Physics and the Academic Secretary of the Department of Physics.

3. Any unexpended income in a financial year may be expended in accordance with Regulation 1 in any one or more subsequent years.


  • 1See the Vice-Chancellor's Notice on p. 446.

J. W. NICHOLLS, Registrary