WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

International Garden Photographer of the Year Exhibition

This is the world’s premier competition and exhibition specialising in garden, plant and flower photography and is open to amateurs and professionals alike.

Rembrandt and the Nude

Tue 24 September 2019 - Sun 23 February

Fitzwilliam Museum

Rembrandt made etchings of female nudes during two distinct periods of his career: in the 1630s, and another two decades later. He depicted his models naturalistically, naar ‘t leven (‘from life’), in informal poses, concentrating on the sensuousness of their flesh rather than on the idealised female body. From shortly after Rembrandt’s death up until the mid-20th century this unidealised treatment was fiercely attacked by critics, who used words such as ‘intolerable’, ‘ill-shaped’ and ‘monstrous’ to describe his departure from the classical norms of beauty. This exhibition challenges this view, drawing attention to the beauty and power of Rembrandt’s treatment of the female form.

Cost: Free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Tuesday 24 September until Monday 23 December

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Friday 27 December until Saturday 28 December

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Thursday 2 January 2020 until Sunday 23 February 2020

12:00pm-5:00pm Sunday every week from Tuesday 24 September until Sunday 23 February 2020

All times

Tue 24 September 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 25 September 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 26 September 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 27 September 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 28 September 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 29 September 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 1 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 2 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 3 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 4 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 5 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 6 October 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 8 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 9 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 10 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 11 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 12 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 13 October 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 15 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 16 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 17 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 18 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 19 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 20 October 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 22 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 23 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 24 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 25 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 26 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 27 October 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 29 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 30 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 31 October 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 November 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 November 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 November 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 November 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 29 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 30 November 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 1 December 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 3 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 4 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 5 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 6 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 7 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 8 December 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 10 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 11 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 12 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 13 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 14 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 15 December 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 17 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 18 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 19 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 20 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 21 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 22 December 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 27 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 28 December 2019 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 29 December 2019 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 2 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 3 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 5 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 7 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 8 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 9 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 10 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 11 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 12 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 14 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 15 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 16 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 17 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 18 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 19 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 21 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 22 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 23 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 24 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 25 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 26 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 28 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 29 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 30 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 31 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 1 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 2 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 4 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 5 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 6 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 7 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 8 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 9 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 11 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 12 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 13 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 14 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 15 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 16 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 18 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 19 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 20 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 21 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 22 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 23 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1RB
Map
Email: fitzmuseum-enquiries@lists.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 332900
Fax: +44 1223 332923
Website