WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Gurminder Sikand Tree Spirits 1991

Exhibition: The Goddess, the Deity & the Cyborg

Drawing from the works in The Women’s Art Collection as well as loans from public and private collections, the exhibition explores the enduring appeal of the goddess and traces how artists have adapted and even transformed the goddess into an ambiguous figure undefined by gender or even bodily form.

William Blake etching named Head of a Damned Soul.

William Blake’s Universe

Fri 23 February - Sun 19 May

Fitzwilliam Museum

Sometimes seen as an eccentric figure or lone genius, William Blake’s Universe is the first exhibition to explore Blake’s boundless imagination in the context of wider trends and themes in European art including romanticism, mysticism and ideas of spiritual regeneration.

This timely new exhibition brings together the largest-ever display of works by the radical British artist, printmaker and poet from our own collection, alongside artworks by his European contemporaries such as the German romantic painters Philipp Otto Runge and Caspar David Friedrich – many of which have never been displayed publicly in the UK until now.

Though these artists never met or connected in their lifetimes, Blake, Runge and Friedrich shared a strong sense of individuality and an unwavering belief in the power of art to redeem a society in crisis.

Cost: Pay what you wish for your exhibition visit.

Enquiries and booking

Booking is recommended for this event.

Website

Timing

In person

From 10:00am ending at 5:00pm 87 days later, Tuesday-Saturday every week from Friday 23 February until Sunday 19 May

From 12:00pm ending at 5:00pm 87 days later, Sunday every week from Friday 23 February until Sunday 19 May

12:00pm-5:00pm on Friday 29 March

12:00pm-5:00pm on Monday 1 April

All times

Fri 23 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 20 May
Sat 24 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 21 May
Sun 25 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 22 May
Tue 27 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 24 May
Wed 28 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 25 May
Thu 29 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 26 May
Fri 1 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 27 May
Sat 2 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 28 May
Sun 3 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 29 May
Tue 5 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 31 May
Wed 6 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 1 June
Thu 7 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 2 June
Fri 8 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 3 June
Sat 9 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 4 June
Sun 10 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 5 June
Tue 12 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 7 June
Wed 13 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 8 June
Thu 14 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 9 June
Fri 15 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 10 June
Sat 16 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 11 June
Sun 17 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 12 June
Tue 19 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 14 June
Wed 20 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 15 June
Thu 21 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 16 June
Fri 22 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 17 June
Sat 23 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 18 June
Sun 24 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 19 June
Tue 26 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 21 June
Wed 27 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 22 June
Thu 28 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 23 June
Fri 29 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 24 June
12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 30 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 25 June
Sun 31 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 26 June
Mon 1 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 2 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 28 June
Wed 3 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 29 June
Thu 4 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 30 June
Fri 5 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 1 July
Sat 6 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 2 July
Sun 7 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 3 July
Tue 9 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 5 July
Wed 10 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 6 July
Thu 11 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 7 July
Fri 12 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 8 July
Sat 13 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 9 July
Sun 14 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 10 July
Tue 16 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 12 July
Wed 17 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 13 July
Thu 18 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 14 July
Fri 19 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 15 July
Sat 20 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 16 July
Sun 21 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 17 July
TodayTue 23 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 19 July
Wed 24 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 20 July
Thu 25 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 21 July
Fri 26 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 22 July
Sat 27 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 23 July
Sun 28 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 24 July
Tue 30 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 26 July
Wed 1 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 27 July
Thu 2 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 28 July
Fri 3 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 29 July
Sat 4 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 30 July
Sun 5 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 31 July
Tue 7 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 2 August
Wed 8 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 3 August
Thu 9 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 4 August
Fri 10 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 5 August
Sat 11 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 6 August
Sun 12 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 7 August
Tue 14 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Fri 9 August
Wed 15 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sat 10 August
Thu 16 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Sun 11 August
Fri 17 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Mon 12 August
Sat 18 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM on Tue 13 August
Sun 19 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM on Wed 14 August

Venue

Address: Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1RB
Map
Email: fitzmuseum-enquiries@lists.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 332900
Fax: +44 1223 332923
Website