WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
Thomas Gainsborough, Lady Margaret Downing, ca. 1763. Oil on canvas.

WE ARE HERE: WOMEN IN ART AT CAMBRIDGE COLLEGES

Please note: this event has been CANCELLED

Fri 6 March - Sun 24 May

The Heong Gallery

In 1946, two paintings made their way into college art collections, causing bemusement and some outright hostility. The portrait of Lady Margaret Downing by Thomas Gainsborough and that of ballerina Lydia Lopokova by Duncan Grant were given to Downing College and King’s College respectively, two years before women won the right to receive degrees from the University of Cambridge and a full twenty-six years before hitherto all-male colleges began to accept women into their membership. Both women are part of college lore, Lady Downing as the doughty nemesis of the Trustees instructed to set up Downing College and Lopokova as an overlooked member of the Bloomsbury circle so enmeshed in King’s College’s recent history. They graced the walls of both colleges well before women won the right to enter the halls as full members.

College art collections are relatively unfamiliar to outsiders. They comprise a mixture of gifts and commissions, reflecting the patronage of founders and alumni as well as memorialising heads of house and fellows. Women’s colleges, despite the uphill struggle to attain parity, took care to look the part of a legitimate Cambridge college, providing the earliest images of female role models available to the women of the university. Today, over three decades after all colleges voted to accept women, the visual representation of women and the appearance of art by women have both proceeded apace, albeit unevenly in different colleges.

Forty years after Downing College accepted its first female undergraduates, 'We Are Here' tells the story of women in college art over the twentieth century, through works that help transform colleges into more inclusive spaces for women and interrogate what it is to be a woman at the University of Cambridge.
PARTICIPATING COLLEGES Churchill College • Darwin College • Downing College • Girton College • Jesus College • King’s College • Murray Edwards College • Newnham College

ARTISTS Cathy de Monchaux • Dame Elisabeth Frink RA • Thomas Gainsborough • Duncan Grant • Lady Christiana Herringham • Lubaina Himid RA • Claerwen James • Mary Kelly • Henry Lamb • Juliette Losq • Melanie Manchot • Louise Nevelson • Kate Nicholson • Winifred Nicholson • Yelena Popova • Gwen Raverat • Sophie Seita • Alison Wilding RA

Cost: FREE

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Dr Prerona Prasad Website Email: gallery@dow.cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223334800

Timing

12:00pm-5:00pm Wednesday-Sunday every week from Friday 6 March until Sunday 24 May

All times

Fri 6 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 7 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 8 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 11 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 12 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 13 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 14 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 15 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 18 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 19 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 20 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 21 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 22 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 25 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 26 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 27 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 28 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 29 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 1 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 2 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 3 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 5 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 8 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 9 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 10 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 11 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 12 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 15 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 16 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 17 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 18 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 19 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 22 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 23 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 24 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 25 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 26 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 29 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 30 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: The Heong Gallery
Downing College
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1DQ
United Kingdom
Map
Email: gallery@dow.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: 01223 334800
Website