WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

David Hockney new self portrait

Hockney’s Eye: The Art and Technology of Depiction

One of the most influential artists of our time, David Hockney (b.1937) takes over Cambridge this spring and summer with an exhibition across The Fitzwilliam Museum and The Heong Gallery, Downing College.

Photo of diorama by Alexandra Murphy

Animal Afterlives - a taxidermy photography exhibition

Wed 3 November 2021 - Sun 30 January

Museum of Zoology

Natural history museums display and store preserved animals in such a way that they, at first glance, appear to be living, but in reality they are lifeless and fixed in position. When these specimens are photographed, their stillness becomes further frozen in time. Alexandra Murphy has photographed different taxidermy specimen collections in UK and US museums,

in an exploration of the photograph’s relationship with preservation, representation, life and death, past and present.

The works in the exhibition explore a range of different photographic processes and materials from retouched digital photographs, prints embedded in resin and nineteenth-century photographic techniques such as the salted paper print and carte-de-visite albumen print.

The artwork will be displayed throughout the Museum. Entry to the Museum, including the exhibition is free. Please book a ticket https://www.museum.zoo.cam.ac.uk/visit-us


About the artist

Alexandra Murphy has been researching the relationship between photography and taxidermy in museums since 2007. She has an exploratory approach to her photographic practice, incorporating a range of mixed media across digital and wet print processes. Alexandra's work can be viewed on her website: www.acm-photo.com.

Cost: FREE

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

In person

10:00am daily from Wednesday 3 November 2021 until Sunday 30 January

All times

Wed 3 November 2021 10:00AM
Thu 4 November 2021 10:00AM
Fri 5 November 2021 10:00AM
Sat 6 November 2021 10:00AM
Sun 7 November 2021 10:00AM
Mon 8 November 2021 10:00AM
Tue 9 November 2021 10:00AM
Wed 10 November 2021 10:00AM
Thu 11 November 2021 10:00AM
Fri 12 November 2021 10:00AM
Sat 13 November 2021 10:00AM
Sun 14 November 2021 10:00AM
Mon 15 November 2021 10:00AM
Tue 16 November 2021 10:00AM
Wed 17 November 2021 10:00AM
Thu 18 November 2021 10:00AM
Fri 19 November 2021 10:00AM
Sat 20 November 2021 10:00AM
Sun 21 November 2021 10:00AM
Mon 22 November 2021 10:00AM
Tue 23 November 2021 10:00AM
Wed 24 November 2021 10:00AM
Thu 25 November 2021 10:00AM
Fri 26 November 2021 10:00AM
Sat 27 November 2021 10:00AM
Sun 28 November 2021 10:00AM
Mon 29 November 2021 10:00AM
Tue 30 November 2021 10:00AM
Wed 1 December 2021 10:00AM
Thu 2 December 2021 10:00AM
Fri 3 December 2021 10:00AM
Sat 4 December 2021 10:00AM
Sun 5 December 2021 10:00AM
Mon 6 December 2021 10:00AM
Tue 7 December 2021 10:00AM
Wed 8 December 2021 10:00AM
Thu 9 December 2021 10:00AM
Fri 10 December 2021 10:00AM
Sat 11 December 2021 10:00AM
Sun 12 December 2021 10:00AM
Mon 13 December 2021 10:00AM
Tue 14 December 2021 10:00AM
Wed 15 December 2021 10:00AM
Thu 16 December 2021 10:00AM
Fri 17 December 2021 10:00AM
Sat 18 December 2021 10:00AM
Sun 19 December 2021 10:00AM
Mon 20 December 2021 10:00AM
Tue 21 December 2021 10:00AM
Wed 22 December 2021 10:00AM
Thu 23 December 2021 10:00AM
Fri 24 December 2021 10:00AM
Sat 25 December 2021 10:00AM
Sun 26 December 2021 10:00AM
Mon 27 December 2021 10:00AM
Tue 28 December 2021 10:00AM
Wed 29 December 2021 10:00AM
Thu 30 December 2021 10:00AM
Fri 31 December 2021 10:00AM
Sat 1 January 10:00AM
Sun 2 January 10:00AM
Mon 3 January 10:00AM
Tue 4 January 10:00AM
Wed 5 January 10:00AM
Thu 6 January 10:00AM
Fri 7 January 10:00AM
Sat 8 January 10:00AM
Sun 9 January 10:00AM
Mon 10 January 10:00AM
Tue 11 January 10:00AM
Wed 12 January 10:00AM
Thu 13 January 10:00AM
Fri 14 January 10:00AM
Sat 15 January 10:00AM
Sun 16 January 10:00AM
Mon 17 January 10:00AM
Tue 18 January 10:00AM
Wed 19 January 10:00AM
Thu 20 January 10:00AM
Fri 21 January 10:00AM
Sat 22 January 10:00AM
Sun 23 January 10:00AM
Mon 24 January 10:00AM
Tue 25 January 10:00AM
Wed 26 January 10:00AM
Thu 27 January 10:00AM
Fri 28 January 10:00AM
Sat 29 January 10:00AM
Sun 30 January 10:00AM

Venue

Address: Museum of Zoology
Downing Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 3EJ
Map
Email: umzc@zoo.cam.ac.uk
Website