Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6505

Thursday 10 May 2018

Vol cxlviii No 29

pp. 550–569

Awards, etc.

Adams Prize, 2017–18

The Adams Prize is awarded jointly each year by the Faculty of Mathematics and St John’s College to UK-based researchers, under the age of 40, doing first class international research in the Mathematical Sciences. The Prize was named after the mathematician John Couch Adams and commemorates Adams’s role in the discovery of the planet Neptune, through calculation of the discrepancies in the orbit of Uranus.

This year’s topic was The mathematics of astronomy and cosmology, and the prize was awarded jointly to:

Dr Claudia de Rham, Imperial College London, for her work on nonlinear, ghost-free, theories of massive gravity; and

Dr Gustav Holzegel, Imperial College London, for his work on the mathematical study of the stability problem for black holes.

For further information on the Adams Prize see