Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6490

Wednesday 10 January 2018

Vol cxlviii No 14

pp. 268–305

College Notices


Hughes Hall

Appointed as Development Director from 2 January 2018 and elected into a Fellowship in Class A effective immediately:

Carolyn (Lena) Milosevic MBE, B.A., Winchester, M.A., Leeds

Elected as Life Fellow:

Sara Elizabeth Melville, M.A., B.Sc., Newcastle, Ph.D, CNNA

Murray Edwards College

Elected to a non-stipendiary Research Fellowship from 1 January 2018:

Rin Ushiyama, Ph.D., TH

Newnham College

Elected into an Honorary Fellowship with effect from 30 November 2017:

Ms Sue Owen CB, B.A., M.A., N, M.Sc., Cardiff

Pembroke College

Elected to Honorary Fellowships from 7 November 2017:

Eric Idle, B.A., PEM

Catherine Bishop, B.A., PEM, M.A., Wales Aberystwyth, Ph.D., Reading

St Edmund’s College

Elected to an Honorary Fellowship:

Professor Sir Leszek Krzysztof Borysiewicz, FRS, FRCP, FMedSci

Elected to a Fellowship under Title A:

Dr Antonina Kruppa, B.A., Mount Holyoke, Ph.D., T

Elected to a Fellowship under Title B:

Dr Sami Everett, B.A., Royal Holloway, M.Phil., Ph.D., SOAS

Elected to a Visiting Fellowship:

Professor Peter Gosnell, A.B., Princeton, M.Div., Th.M., Western Seminary, Ph.D., Sheffield

Elected to a Fellow Commonership:

Mr Stephen Jolly, M.A., CHR, M.A., Sussex

Appointed as a Senior Member:

Mr Gavin Heaphy, B.Sc., Nottingham Trent, M.Sc., UCL

Appointed as an Associate Member (PDRA):

Dr Mehrunisha Suleman, M.A., MUR, B.M.B.Ch., M.Sc., D.Phil., Oxford

Appointed as a Woolf Institute Research Associate:

Dr Mohammed Ahmed, B.A., M.A., Mansoura, Ph.D., Leipzig

Appointed as a Visiting Scholar:

Dr Mehdi Alhaddad, M.Eng., UCL, Ph.D., ED

Dr Gabor Kajtar, M.A., LL.D., Ph.D., ELTE, LL.M., ED

Wolfson College

Elected to an Honorary Fellowship from 1 November 2017:

Professor Sir Richard Evans, FBA, Regius Professor Emeritus of History, W

Elected to a University Official Fellowship (Title A) from 1 December 2017:

Susan Robertson, B.App.Sc., Curtin, Western Australia, B.Ed., Western Australia, Ph.D., Calgary

Elected to a Junior Research Fellowship (Title BI) from 1 October 2017:

Anjali Datta, B.A., M.A., M.Phil., Delhi, Ph.D., T

Mariana ‘Julieta’ Galante, Médica, M.Sc., Buenos Aires, Ph.D., Cardiff

Ghina M. Halabi, B.Sc., Lebanese, M.Sc., Ph.D., American University of Beirut

Anthony Pickles, B.Sc., M.Res., UCL, Ph.D., St Andrews

Tom Schirris, M.Sc., Ph.D., Radboud, The Netherlands

Zohreh Shams, B.Sc., Azad University of South Tehran, Iran, M.Sc., Surrey, Ph.D., Bath

Noa Zilberman, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D., Tel Aviv

Elected to a College Official Fellowship (Title C) from 1 October 2017:

Marina Salorio-Corbetto, Licenciate, Universidad del Salvador, Buenos Aires, Ph.D., W

Elected to an Extraordinary Fellowship (Title D) from 1 October 2017:

Thomas Pulimood, M.B. B.S., Madras, MRCP, FRCP, FHEA


Christ’s College: J. H. Plumb College Lectureship and Fellowship in History; tenure: 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2022, not extendable or renewable; closing date: 29 January 2018 at 12 noon; further details:

Darwin College: Patrick Sissons Evelyn Trust Research Fellowship in Infection and Immunity; tenure: from 1 October 2018 for three years, for either an outstanding researcher who is completing, or who has recently completed, their Ph.D. Degree or a clinician scientist at junior or intermediate PI level who wishes to take time to focus on research through a buy-out of some clinical time; further details:

Other Notices

Darwin College

The 33rd Darwin College Lecture Series: Migration

Darwin College will host its thirty-third annual public lecture series in the Lent Term, on the theme of Migration. Lectures will be held on Fridays at 5.30 p.m. in the Lady Mitchell Hall, Sidgwick Avenue; all are welcome to attend. The first lecture, Black and British migration, by David Olusoga, historian and broadcaster, will take place on Friday, 19 January 2018. Further details about this lecture, and others in the series, can be found at

Selwyn College

Selwyn College Music Society: Chilingirian Quartet

A concert by the Chilingirian Quartet will take place on Sunday, 11 February 2018 at 8.30 p.m. The programme will include Haydn’s Quartet in D minor Op 42, Mozart’s ‘Hunt ‘ Quartet K458, and Beethoven’s Razoumovsky Quartet Op 59 No 1. Tickets cost £25 for adults and £5 for students, and are available in advance from Selwyn College alumni office (email: or Selwyn College Porters’ Lodge. Further information about the quartet is available at:

St John’s College

Memorial service: Dr Alan Smith

A Memorial service for Dr Alan Smith, M.A., Ph.D., Fellow of St John’s College and Emeritus Reader in Geology (see Reporter, 6477, 2017–18, p. 13), will be held in St John’s College Chapel at 12 noon on Saturday, 10 February 2018.