WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

William Blake etching named Head of a Damned Soul.

William Blake’s Universe

Discover William Blake’s universe and a constellation of European artists seeking spirituality in their lives and art in response to war, revolution and political turbulence.

Issam Kourbaj: Urgent Archive

Sat 2 March - Sun 26 May

Kettle's Yard House and Gallery

Since 2011 Issam Kourbaj’s artwork has responded to the ongoing conflict in Syria, and reflects on the suffering of his fellow Syrians and the destruction of his cultural heritage. This exhibition presents key works from this period alongside a new series which explores themes of loss, memory and renewal.

Inspired by a seed’s ability to sprout roots in new environments, Kourbaj will grow Syrian wheat (donated by ICARDA) at Kettle’s Yard and Downing College, creating new work in collaboration with The Heong Gallery, Cambridge University Botanic Garden and the Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge University, and the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

The exhibition – the artist’s largest to date – will include installation, sculpture, performance and works on paper. Kourbaj will be present at intervals throughout the exhibition, which will evolve as he adds to the displays.

A concurrent exhibition of work by Issam Kourbaj is taking place at the Heong Gallery, Downing College, Cambridge. A new publication will explore the themes and artworks in both exhibitions. ‘Issam Kourbaj: Urgent Archive’ is curated by Guy Haywood with Amy Tobin.

Cost: FREE, come along

Enquiries and booking

Booking is recommended for this event.

Website

Timing

In person

11:00am-5:00pm daily from Saturday 2 March until Sunday 26 May

All times

Sat 2 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 4 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 11 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 18 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 25 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 29 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 30 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 31 March 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 1 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 2 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 3 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 4 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 5 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 6 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 7 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 8 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 9 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 10 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 11 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 12 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 13 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 14 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 15 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 16 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 17 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 18 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 19 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 20 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 21 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 22 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
TodayTue 23 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 24 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 25 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 26 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 27 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 28 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 29 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 30 April 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 1 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 2 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 3 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 5 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 6 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 7 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 8 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 9 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 10 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 11 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 12 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 13 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 14 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 15 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 16 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 17 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 18 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 19 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 20 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 21 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 22 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 23 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 24 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 25 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 26 May 11:00AM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Kettle's Yard House and Gallery
Castle Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 0AQ
Map
Email: mail@kettlesyard.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 748100
Fax: +44 1223 324377
Website