WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

A robin, one of the the British species whose genome is being sequenced as part of the 25 genome Project.

Curious Nature and Open Lab visits

The natural world around us is a curious place! Visit the Genome Gallery during one of the Wellcome Genome Campus Open Saturdays to explore our latest family-friendly exhibition, and discover how genome sequencing is helping us uncover much more about it. Also visit Open Lab, our exciting new space to learn about the current science, history, and ethos of the Wellcome Genome Campus.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo
Valerio Castello (1624-59), The Martyrdom of Saint Lawrence, pen and brown ink and brown wash, heightened with white, over an underdrawing in black chalk, squared in red chalk

Enriching Collections: Recent acquisitions of prints and drawings 2009-2019

Tue 22 January - Sun 5 May

Fitzwilliam Museum

This exhibition is the first of two successive selections of works on paper to celebrate the outstanding generosity of benefactors and donors who have helped to enrich the collections. It will also highlight a number of exceptional works bought with funds raised or donated by individuals, charities, and other supporters.

Each tells a story of disinterested commitment to giving for the benefit of others. Preserved, researched and displayed by the Museum – and made globally accessible in digital form - they exit the private sphere to be enjoyed by all.

Albrecht Dürer, William Holman Hunt, James McNeill Whistler, Paul Delvaux, Natalia Goncharova and Grayson Perry are among the artists represented in this first exhibition. A second selection will be presented from 21 May to 1 September 2019.

Cost: Free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Tuesday 22 January 2019 until Sunday 5 May 2019

12:00pm-5:00pm Sunday every week from Sunday 27 January 2019 until Sunday 5 May 2019

12:00pm-5:00pm on Monday 22 April 2019

All times

Tue 22 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 23 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 24 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 25 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 26 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 27 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 29 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 30 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 31 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 29 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 30 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 31 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 2 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 3 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 4 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 5 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 6 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 7 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 9 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 10 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 11 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 12 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 13 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 14 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 16 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 17 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 18 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 19 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
TodaySat 20 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 21 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Mon 22 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 23 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 24 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 25 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 26 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 27 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 28 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 30 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 1 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 2 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 3 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 5 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1RB
Map
Email: fitzmuseum-enquiries@lists.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 332900
Fax: +44 1223 332923
Website