WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Life is Still Life

Life is Still Life presents an exciting selection of modern and contemporary works by women artists in the genre of still life.

GAVIN TURK: IN SEARCH OF ARIADNE

Thu 6 October - Sun 5 February 2023

The Heong Gallery

To coincide with the permanent installation of Gavin Turk’s 'Ariadne Wrapped', a new sculpture outside Cambridge Rail Station, this exhibition unpacks the questions inspired by the sculpture. The form of the sculpture is familiar from centuries of depictions of reclining forms from Michelangelo to Henry Moore. Turk uses this familiarity to subvert the viewers expectations. His Ariadne is under cover, forever hidden. Wrapped and secured with ropes, she seems to be in transit; between places; on her way. Like Christo and Jeanne-Claude’s wrapped objects and buildings, Turk’s wrapped sculpture brings form and volume into sharp focus by obscuring detail and specifics. In the vein of Man Ray’s surrealist masterpiece, 'The Enigma of Isidore Ducasse', Turk’s Ariadne also transforms a well-known form to one that is mysterious and unknowable. The exhibition at The Heong Gallery explores the metaphysical, art historical, and social underpinnings of Ariadne Wrapped, giving visitors the tools to unwrap and unpack the form, context, and narratives wrapped up in the sculpture.

‘The reclining figure is now a chrysalis transforming into something else’
– Gavin Turk

‘This is what underlies Gavin Turk’s statue, with a twist – because the outline of the famous Ariadne is clear enough, but she is wrapped up ... There she is, but you can’t actually see her! The message? Well, antiquity is still with us, but always a bit buried? Come to Cambridge and we will unwrap this for you?’ – Prof. Mary Beard

An instant enigma, sited in the ‘square’ outside Cambridge station, its form is inspired by De Chirico’s paintings, set against the station’s Italianate arches. ‘Ariadne Wrapped’ does that rare thing in public sculpture of activating the surrounding space, even reimagining all of Cambridge as a surrealist, dream city! – Andrew Nairne O.B.E. (Director, Kettle’s Yard)

‘At the point of installing a sculpture, the notion is that the sculpture will not be for everyone which is at odds at the point of creating the work.’- Gavin Turk

‘It is something to do with the male gaze and the idea of the binary, the passivity of the figure – as well as classical codes’ – Gavin Turk

Cost: FREE

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Prerona Prasad Email: gallery@dow.cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223334800

Timing

In person

12:00pm-5:00pm Wednesday-Sunday every week from Thursday 6 October until Sunday 5 February 2023 (except between Wednesday 21 December and Wednesday 4 January 2023)

All times

Thu 6 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 7 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 8 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 9 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 12 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 13 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 14 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 15 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 16 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 19 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 20 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 21 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 22 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 23 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 26 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 27 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 28 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 29 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 30 October 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 2 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 3 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 4 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 5 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 6 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 9 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 10 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 11 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 12 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 13 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 16 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 17 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 18 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 19 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 20 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 23 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 24 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 25 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 26 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 27 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 30 November 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 1 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 2 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 3 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 4 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 7 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 8 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
TodayFri 9 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 10 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 11 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 14 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 15 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 16 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 17 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 18 December 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 5 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 6 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 7 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 8 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 11 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 12 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 13 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 14 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 15 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 18 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 19 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 20 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 21 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 22 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 25 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 26 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 27 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 28 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 29 January 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 1 February 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Thu 2 February 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Fri 3 February 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 February 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 5 February 2023 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: The Heong Gallery
Downing College
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1DQ
United Kingdom
Map
Email: gallery@dow.cam.ac.uk
Website