WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

GAVIN TURK: IN SEARCH OF ARIADNE

A new exhibition by artist Gavin Turk opens on 6 October 2022. In Search of Ariadne unravels the cultural meme of the reclining figure in art. What is the reclining figure? Why is this something that artists have been intrigued with for centuries and where does this form originate?

Life is Still Life

Fri 16 September - Sat 11 February 2023

Murray Edwards College

Life is Still Life presents an exciting selection of modern and contemporary works by women artists in the genre of still life. Throughout the history of art, still life has been denigrated and dismissed, largely because of its associations with women and the home. Despite this, still life has been the site of radical experiments with form and meaning and a way for artists to explore broad questions about life, death, gender and the self.

The exhibition brings together works by 15 artists created between the 1940s and the present day in a range of mediums including painting, photography, video and ceramics. It features key works from The Women’s Art Collection by artists including Shani Rhys James, Margaret Thomas and Rachel Nicholson, alongside major loans from artists, galleries and private collections. These include recent works in painting and photography by contemporary artists such as Hilary Pecis, Joy Labinjo, and Sekai Machache, as well as Sam Taylor-Johnson’s iconic video work, Still Life (2001). In a newly commissioned ceramic work, Katy Stubbs deconstructs the traditional still life and transforms it into the tragic narrative of a budgerigar. The exhibition’s title, taken from Charlotte Bronte?’s novel Villette (1853), speaks to the enduring significance of the genre and its ability to address broad existential questions while depicting the minutiae of everyday life.

Artists: Maisie Cousins, Phyllis Floyd, Maeve Gilmore, Joy Labinjo, Anna Liber Lewis, Harriet Macaree, Sekai Machache, E.Q. Nicholson, Rachel Nicholson, Arlie Panting, Hilary Pecis, Shani Rhys James, Katy Stubbs, Sam Taylor-Johnson, Margaret Thomas.

Public Programme: The exhibition is accompanied by a public programme of both online and in-person events, including tours, talks, workshops and panel discussions. For more information and to book tickets, please click this link or follow us on social media.

Cost: Free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Website Email: art@murrayedwards.cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223 762100

Timing

In person

10:00am-6:00pm daily from Friday 16 September until Saturday 11 February 2023

All times

Fri 16 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 17 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 18 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 19 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 20 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 21 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 22 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 23 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 24 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 25 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 26 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 27 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 28 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 29 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 30 September 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 1 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 2 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 3 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 4 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 5 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 6 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 7 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 8 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 9 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 10 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 11 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 12 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 13 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 14 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 15 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 16 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 17 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 18 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 19 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 20 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 21 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 22 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 23 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 24 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 25 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 26 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 27 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 28 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 29 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 30 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 31 October 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 1 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 2 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 3 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 4 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 5 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 6 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 7 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 8 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 9 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 10 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 11 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 12 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 13 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 14 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 15 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 16 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 17 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 18 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 19 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 20 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 21 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 22 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 23 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 24 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 25 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 26 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 27 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 28 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 29 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 30 November 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 1 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 2 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 3 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 4 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 5 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 6 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 7 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 8 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
TodayFri 9 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 10 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 11 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 12 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 13 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 14 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 15 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 16 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 17 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 18 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 19 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 20 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 21 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 22 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 23 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 24 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 25 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 26 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 27 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 28 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 29 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 30 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 31 December 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 1 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 2 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 3 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 4 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 5 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 6 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 7 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 8 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 9 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 10 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 11 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 12 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 13 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 14 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 15 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 16 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 17 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 18 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 19 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 20 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 21 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 22 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 23 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 24 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 25 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 26 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 27 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 28 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 29 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 30 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 31 January 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 1 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 2 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 3 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 4 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 5 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 6 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 7 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 8 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 9 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 10 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sat 11 February 2023 10:00AM - 6:00PM

Venue

Address: Murray Edwards College
Huntingdon Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 0DF
Map
Email: art@murrayedwards.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: 01223 762100
Website