Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6550

Wednesday 5 June 2019

Vol cxlix No 32

pp. 647–665


Pilkington Prize winners, 2019

The Pilkington Prizes are awarded annually to teaching staff for their outstanding quality and approach to teaching. The awards were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington who believed that the quality of teaching was crucial to the University’s success.

The 2019 Pilkington Prize winners are as follows:

Dr Ruth Abbott, JN – Faculty of English

Professor Catherine Barnard, T – Faculty of Law

Dr Cecilia Brassett, M – Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

Dr Manali Desai, N – Department of Sociology

Dr Sonja Dunbar, CHU – Department of Plant Sciences

Dr Midge Gillies – Institute of Continuing Education

Dr Jessica Gwynne, N and CTH – Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

Dr Cesare Hall, K– Department of Engineering

Dr Liz Hook, HO – Department of Pathology

Dr Nikku Madhusudhan – Institute of Astronomy

Dr Laura Moretti, EM – Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Languages

Professor Anna Philpott, CL – School of Clinical Medicine

Professor Simone Teufel, K – Department of Computer Science and Technology

More information about the awards, including lists of winners from previous years, can be found on the Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning website: