Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6516

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Vol cxlviii No 40

pp. 837–885

Notices by the General Board

Appointment of Heads of Departments

With effect from 1 October 2018

The General Board has approved the following amendments to the Regulations governing the appointment of Heads of Departments, so as to clarify that the role may be shared. It has also taken the opportunity to update the list of Departments in Regulation 3.

By amending Regulations 2 and 3 of the Regulations for Departments and Heads of Departments (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 613) so that they read as follows:

2. (a) Subject to the provisions of Regulation 3, the Head of each Department, who shall be a University officer or University officers engaged in teaching and research in the Department, shall be appointed by the General Board, on the recommendation of the Faculty Board or other authority concerned, for a period not exceeding five years at a time, save that in a particular case the General Board shall have power, after consultation with the Faculty Board or other authority concerned, to make an appointment for a period not exceeding ten years at a time.

(b) If more than one University officer is appointed as Head of a Department, (i) the arrangements for sharing the appointment shall be as determined by the General Board, and (ii) any provision in Ordinance or Regulation making reference to the Head of that Department in the singular shall be construed in accordance with those arrangements.

3. The Head of each Department shall be a person or persons appointed in accordance with Regulation 2, except in the cases where an alternative arrangement is listed below:

Faculties and Departments

Head of Department

Faculty of Architecture and History of Art

Department of Architecture

Department of History of Art

Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Department of East Asian Studies

Department of Middle Eastern Studies

Faculty of Biology

Department of Biochemistry

Department of Genetics

Department of Pathology

Department of Pharmacology

Department of Physiology, Development, and Neuroscience

Department of Plant Sciences

Department of Psychology

Department of Zoology

Faculty of Business and Management

Judge Institute of Management (Judge Business School)

The Director of Judge Business School

Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Department of Clinical Biochemistry

Department of Clinical Neurosciences

Department of Haematology

Department of Medical Genetics

Department of Medicine

Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Department of Oncology

Department of Paediatrics

Department of Psychiatry

Department of Public Health and Primary Care

Department of Radiology

Department of Surgery

Faculty of Computer Science and Technology

Department of Computer Science and Technology

Faculty of Earth Sciences and Geography

Department of Earth Sciences

Department of Geography

Faculty of Engineering

Department of Engineering

Faculty of English

Department of Anglo-Saxon, Norse, and Celtic

Faculty of Human, Social, and Political Science

Department of Archaeology

Department of Social Anthropology

Department of Sociology

Department of Politics and International Studies

Faculty of Law

Institute of Criminology

The Director of the Institute of Criminology

Faculty of Mathematics

Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics

Faculty of Physics and Chemistry

Institute of Astronomy

The Director of the Institute of Astronomy

Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

Department of Chemistry

Department of Physics

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Department of Veterinary Medicine

Departments independent of any Faculty

Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

History and Philosophy of Science

Land Economy