Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6494

Wednesday 7 February 2018

Vol cxlviii No 18

pp. 377–387


Report of the Council on membership of the Regent House for Directors of Research and Principal Research Associates

The Council begs leave to report to the University as follows:

1. During its investigation of the issues surrounding the age limit on membership of the Regent House (see the Council’s Notice, p. 379), the Council considered the position of those who are University employees and have previously held an established office but on reaching the retiring age have been given permission to continue working for the University for a fixed period in an unestablished post.

2. The Council notes that these employees are currently removed from the Roll on ceasing to hold their established offices and that the title of Director of Research is granted to the majority of those re-employed in unestablished roles. The Council has agreed to recommend that the posts of Director of Research and Principal Research Associate should be added to the list of unestablished posts entitling their holders to membership of the Regent House, to which posts those continuing to be employed after retirement from the offices of Professor or Reader would respectively be appointed. This change would recognize the continuing participation of these individuals in the University’s affairs. It would also remove an inequity by including in the membership of the Regent House those holding the most senior unestablished research roles. The enfranchisement of Directors of Research is consistent with a previous proposal to extend Regent House membership to Directors of Research in 2010.1

3. The Council recommends:

I. That paragraph (i) of the Ordinance on membership of the Regent House under Statute A III 10(e) (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 104) be amended so as to read:

(i)holders of the appointments of Director of Research, Principal Research Associate, Senior Research Associate, Research Associate, Lecturer (unestablished), and Assistant Lecturer (unestablished);

7 February 2018

Stephen Toope, Vice-Chancellor

Nicholas Gay

Jeremy Morris

Richard Anthony

David Greenaway

Susan Oosthuizen

R. Charles

Nicholas Holmes

John Shakeshaft

Stephen J. Cowley

Alice Hutchings

Sara Weller

Daisy Eyre

Fiona Karet

Jocelyn Wyburd

Anthony Freeling

Mark Lewisohn