Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6459

Wednesday 15 March 2017

Vol cxlvii No 25

pp. 398–406



17 March, Friday. Full Term ends.

22 March, Wednesday. Last ordinary issue of the Reporter in the Lent Term.

25 March, Saturday. Lent Term ends. Congregation of the Regent House at 11 a.m.

1 April, Saturday. Congregation of the Regent House at 11 a.m.

16 April. Sunday. Easter day. Scarlet day.

17 April. Monday. Easter Term begins.

20 April. Thursday. First ordinary issue of the Reporter in the Easter Term.

Discussion on Tuesday, 21 March 2017: Cancellation

The Vice-Chancellor gives notice that the Discussion announced for Tuesday, 21 March 2017 will not take place as there are no Reports ready for discussion.

Members of the University Council in class (e) (external members)

1. Under the regulations for the appointment of members of the Council in class (e) (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 111), the Council, on the recommendation of the Proctors and the Deputy Proctors, has appointed Ms Sara Weller, a serving member of the Council in class (e), to chair the Nominating Committee for the current period.

2. The other members of the Nominating Committee are:

The Vice-Chancellor

Dr Nick Bampos, TH

Professor Dame Carol Black, N

Dr Ruth Charles, N

Professor Dame Ann Dowling, SID

Professor David Ibbetson, CLH

Dr Rachael Padman, N

The Acting Registary is Secretary to the Committee.

3. There are four members of the Council in class (e). External members are appointed for terms of four years. Professor Dame Shirley Pearce was appointed to serve a second four-year term from 1 January 2017. However, in November 2016, she was appointed as Chair of Court and Council at the London School of Economics from 1 January 2017 and therefore stood down from the Council with effect from 31 December 2016. One place is therefore vacant. The appointment would be for an initial period until 31 December 2020 with the potential for renewal for four years thereafter. Mr Mark Lewisohn, Mr John Shakeshaft, and Ms Sara Weller are continuing members. Mr Shakeshaft is the Deputy Chair of the Council, Mr Lewisohn chairs the Audit Committee, and Ms Weller chairs the Remuneration Committee.

4. Applications are especially sought from individuals with a track record of leading organizations of very significant scale and complexity, who can demonstrate relevant leadership experience, and who would bring a global perspective and extensive experience at Board level. A demonstrable commitment to education and research is important.

5. Reasonable travel expenses are paid to external members, but the role is not remunerated.

6. The Council meets eleven times a year, in Cambridge, and there are two additional strategic meetings, in September and in the spring. Occasional special meetings are also held. The basic time commitment is therefore of the order of 15–20 days per year. Information about the work of the Council and the University’s governance arrangements is available at:

7. The Nominating Committee has engaged Perrett Laver as search advisers. Appointment details can be downloaded from their website at, quoting reference 2594, and applications should be made to them by 12 noon on 3 April 2017.

8. Those wishing to make suggestions about suitable candidates should provide information to the Acting Registrary by the same date, stating why they believe that the person suggested would be particularly suitable for this role. Further particulars for the post are available at

9. Any enquiries may be made to the Acting Registrary ( or to the Head of the Registrary’s Office (

Election of student members of the Council and of the General Board

13 March 2017

The Vice-Chancellor gives notice that, in the election held from Tuesday 7 to Friday 10 March 2017, the following persons were elected to be the student members of the Council and the General Board in class (d):


Category (i) – CUSU President

Eyre, Daisy, JE.

Category (ii) – GU President

There were no eligible candidates. A bye-election will be called in due course.

Category (iii) – one student elected by and from among the students in the University

Khandelwal, Umang, N.

General Board

Category (i) – CUSU Education Officer

Krish, Martha, R.

Category (ii) – GU President

There were no eligible candidates. A bye-election will be called in due course.

University Combination Room: closure on Wednesday, 22 March 2017

The University Combination Room will be closed on Wednesday, 22 March 2017 for a private event. The Combination Room will re-open at 9 a.m. on Thursday, 23 March 2017.