Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6431

Wednesday 22 June 2016

Vol cxlvi No 36

pp. 678–708


Congregation of the Regent House on 15 June 2016: Honorary Degrees

A Congregation of the Regent House was held this day at 2.45 p.m. The Chancellor was present. Before the Congregation processions formed and then entered the Senate-House by the East Door.

Music was performed at the Congregation by the Concentus Brass Ensemble, by Ms Julia Hwang of St John’s College, and by members of the choirs of Christ’s College and Fitzwilliam College. The programme of music was arranged by the University Organist, Stephen Cleobury, C.B.E., Fellow of King’s College.

The following titular degrees were conferred:

Doctor of Law (honoris causa)

Tanni, Baroness Grey-Thompson, d.b.e., d.l.,

Paralympic athlete and gold medallist, Chancellor of the University of Northumbria, President of the National Council for Voluntary Organisations

Doctor of Law (honoris causa)

Helena Morrissey, c.b.e., m.a.,

of Fitzwilliam College, business leader and gender champion, Chief Executive Officer of Newton Investment Management, Founder and Chair of the 30% Club

Doctor of Medical Science (honoris causa)

Keith Peters, kt, m.a., f.r.c.p., f.r.s.,,

Honorary Fellow of Christ’s College and Clare Hall, physician and immunologist, Regius Professor of Physic Emeritus

Doctor of Science (honoris causa)

Jonathan Ive, k.b.e., r.d.i., hon. f.r.eng.,

Designer, Chief Design Officer, Apple Inc.

Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Nicholas Hytner, kt, b.a.,

Honorary Fellow of Trinity Hall, director of theatre, film, and opera, formerly Director of the National Theatre

Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Nicholas Serota, kt, c.h., b.a.,

Honorary Fellow of Christ’s College, art historian and museum director, Director of the Tate

Doctor of Music (honoris causa)

Joanna MacGregor, o.b.e., b.a., f.t.c.l., f.r.a.m.,

Honorary Fellow of Murray Edwards College, pianist, conductor and composer, Professor of the University of London, and Head of Piano at the Royal Academy of Music

The Orator delivered the following speeches when presenting to The Chancellor the recipients of these Honorary Degrees:

Honorary Degree Congregation – June 2016

J. W. NICHOLLS, Registrary