Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6392

Wednesday 24 June 2015

Vol cxlv No 36

pp. 651–692


Approval of Graces submitted to the Regent House on 10 June 2015

The Graces submitted to the Regent House on 10 June 2015 (Reporter, 6390, 2014–15, p. 629) were approved at 4 p.m. on Friday, 19 June 2015.

Congregation of the Regent House on 17 June 2015: Honorary Degrees

A Congregation of the Regent House was held this day at 2.45 p.m. The Chancellor was present. Processions formed in the Schools Arcade at 2.25 p.m. and entered the Senate-House by the East Door.

Music was performed at the Congregation by His Majesty’s Sagbutts and Cornetts, and members of the choirs of King’s College and Trinity College. The programme of music was arranged by the University Organist Stephen Cleobury, C.B.E., of King’s College.

The following titular degrees were conferred:

Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa)
Rabbi Julia Babette Sarah, Baroness Neuberger, d.b.e., m.a.
Senior Rabbi to the West London Synagogue and medical ethicist, of Newnham College, formerly Chief Executive of the King’s Fund and sometime Chancellor of the University of Ulster

Doctor of Law (honoris causa)
Judge Hisashi Owada, ll.b.
Judge and diplomat, Honorary Fellow of Trinity College, sometime President of the International Court of Justice and formerly Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations

Doctor of Science (honoris causa)
Professor Sir James Alexander Mirrlees, m.a., ph.d., f.b.a.
Economist, Fellow of Trinity College and Professor of Political Economy Emeritus, Distinguished Professor-at-Large and Master of Morningside College, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Distinguished Professor of Economics, University of Macau, Nobel Laureate

Doctor of Science (honoris causa)
Sir Michael David Rawlins, f.r.c.p.,
Physician and pharmacologist, Chair of the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency and formerly Chair of the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, Emeritus Professor, University of Newcastle, and Honorary Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Mr Robert Neil MacGregor, o.m., a.o., f.s.a., hon. f.b.a.
Art historian, Director of the British Museum, and formerly Director of the National Gallery

Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Dame Maria Paula Figueiroa Rego, d.b.e.
Painter and printmaker, Honorary Fellow of Murray Edwards College

Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Professor Judith Jarvis Thomson, m.a.
Moral and metaphysical philosopher, of Newnham College, Professor of Philosophy Emerita and formerly Laurence S. Rockefeller Professor of Philosophy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Doctor of Music (honoris causa)
Sir John Eliot Gardiner, c.b.e., m.a., hon. f.r.a.m.
Conductor, Honorary Fellow of King’s College and sometime Visiting Fellow of Peterhouse, Founder and Artistic Director of the Monteverdi Choir, the English Baroque Soloists, and the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique

The Orator delivered the following speeches when presenting to The Chancellor the recipients of the Honorary Degrees.

Honorary Degree Congregation – June 2015

J. W. NICHOLLS, Registrary