Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6359

Wednesday 8 October 2014

Vol cxlv No 3

pp. 36–48

College Notices


Churchill College, Fitzwilliam College, Murray Edwards College, Selwyn College, St Edmund’s College, and Trinity Hall: The six Colleges invite applications for eleven Junior Research Fellowships; tenure: normally for three years, from 1 October 2015; closing date: 16 November 2014; further particulars and registration details:

Corpus Christi College: One Hong Kong Link Research Fellowship/College Lectureship in Law; tenure: from 1 October 2015; closing date: 13 November 2014; further particulars:

Darwin College: Research Fellowships available:

Schlumberger Research Fellowship; tenure: from 1 October 2015; candidates’ research interests may be in Chemistry, Physics, Geophysics, Mathematics, Engineering (including Chemical Engineering), Biosciences, and Materials Science; closing date: 13 November 2014

Non-stipendiary Research Fellowships; tenure: from 1 October 2015; without limitation of subject; closing date: 13 November 2014

Adrian Research Fellowship in ‘Darwin and the Humanities’ (stipendiary); tenure: from 1 October 2015; closing date: 27 November 2014

Moses and Mary Finley Research Fellowship (stipendiary); tenure: from 1 October 2015; candidates’ research interest must be in the field of ancient history; closing date: 20 November 2014

Further details and information on how to apply for all fellowships: or contact the College Registrar, Janet Gibson, Darwin College, Cambridge, CB3 9EU (email

Magdalene College: Two stipendiary Research Fellowships; tenure: three years from 1 October 2015; the Nevile Fellowship, endowed through the generosity of Trinity College, will be in the Sciences; the Lumley Fellowship, endowed through the generosity of H. R. L. Lumley, will be in the Humanities; current gross stipend (2014–15): £21,165; closing date: 17 November 2014 at 12 noon; further particulars:

Wolfson College: Junior Research Fellowships under Title BI; up to ten, non-stipendiary with dining privileges and annual research allowance; without limit of subject; tenure: one year, and may be renewed for a further two years; closing date: 28 October 2014, at midnight; further particulars:


Newnham College

The following elections and appointments have been made:

Elected into a Fellowship in Category A with effect from 1 October 2014, and appointed Bursar:

Jenny Raine, B.Sc., York

Elected into an Honorary Fellowship with effect from 23 June 2014:

Patricia Simpson, Ph.D., FRS, Paris VI

Selwyn College

The following elections have been made:

Elected to a Fellowship in Class B for five years with effect from 12 March 2014:

Chander Kathir Velu, B.Sc., Southampton, M.Phil., DAR

Elected to a Fellowship in Class A and appointed Development Director for three years with effect from 1 September 2014:

Michael Grant Nicholson, B.A., Aberystwyth

Elected to a Fellowship in Class D, the Keasbey Research Fellowship in American Studies, for three years with effect from 1 October 2014:

Emily Jane Charnock, B.A., Oxford, M.A., American University, Washington, Ph.D., Virginia

The following have been elected into Fellowships in Class A with effect from 1 October 2014:

Marta Halina, B.S., B.A., Minnesota, Ph.D., California, San Diego

Bryan Stanley Cameron, B.A., Indiana, M.A., Ph.D., Pennsylvania

Filipe Carreira da Silva, B.A., ISCTE, M.Phil., Lisbon, Ph.D., ED

Lauren Beth Wilcox, B.A., Macalester College, St Paul, M.Sc., LSE, Ph.D., Minnesota

Anita Christine Briginshaw, Ph.D., CHU

Alan David Howard, M.A., M.Phil., SE, Ph.D., KCL

Elected to a Bye-Fellowship in Biological Sciences for one year:

Paul Elliott, M.A., Ph.D., CL

Trinity Hall

The Governing Body of Trinity Hall has elected the following into Fellowships with effect from 1 October 2014:

Elected into a Staff Fellowship (Class B) in History:

Dr Nicholas Guyatt, M.Phil., EM, Ph.D. Princeton, USA

Elected into an Honorary Fellowship:

Professor David James Thouless FRS, B.A., TH, Ph.D., Cornell, USA