Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6240

Wednesday 26 October 2011

Vol cxlii No 5

pp. 81–101

Societies, etc.

Philosophical Society


The Annual General Meeting of the Society was held on Monday, 17 October 2011 in the Arts School, Bene’t Street at 4.30 p.m.

Professor A. G. Smith, President, was in the Chair.

1. The Treasurer presented the audited accounts for the period January to December 2010, which were adopted.

2. The following Officers and Members of Council were elected for the year 2012:

President: Professor J. D. Mollon

Treasurer: Dr G. A. Reid

Vice-Presidents: Professor A. W. Cuthbert, Professor C. L.-H. Huang, Professor J. Woodhouse

Secretaries: Dr C. Y. Barlow (Physical), Professor C. J. Howe (Biological), Professor P. M. H. Wilson (Mathematical)

Ordinary Members of Council who continue: Professor H. Ahmed, Dr A. F. Blackwell, Professor R. Cameron, Professor T. M. Cox, Professor D. Frenkel, Professor J. M. E. Hyland, Dr D. B. Norman, Professor T. J. Pedley, Professor A. G. Smith, Dr D. Summers, Dr D. I. Wilson, Professor J. Woodhouse

3. Thirty Fellows were elected and no Fellows were re-elected. It was reported that since the last Annual General Meeting two Fellows had died and seven had resigned and one hundred and ninety-five were presumed resigned.

4. Messrs Peters Elworthy & Moore were appointed to act as Auditors for the year 2012.