Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6227

Thursday 2 June 2011

Vol cxli No 31

pp. 877–896

Vacancies, appointments, etc.

Electors to the Professorship of Orthopaedic Surgery: Amendment

An amendment has been made to the membership of the ad hoc Board of Electors to the Professorship of Orthopaedic Surgery, announced on 23 March 2011 (p. 634). Professor Hamish Simpson, University of Edinburgh, has been replaced by Professor Andrew Carr, University of Oxford.

Senior Academic Promotions Committee: Appeals 2011

The procedure for senior academic promotions (paragraph 11.1) provides that applicants have the right to lodge an appeal against the decision of the General Board’s Academic Promotions Committee not to promote.

In accordance with the policy that Committee membership for the senior academic promotions exercise be published, the members of the Appeals Committee for the 1 October 2011 exercise agreed by the General Board are as follows:

Professor David John Ibbetson (Chair)

Professor Anne Carla Ferguson-Smith

Professor James Anthony Jackson

Professor Nigel Kenneth Harry Slater

Professor David Neil Sedley

Secretary: Ms Anne Pollintine

Vacancies in the University

A full list of current vacancies can be found at

E-Learning Developer in the Finance Division: salary: £27,428–£35,788; closing date: 16 June 2011; further particulars:; quote reference: AG08265

The University values diversity and is committed to equality of opportunity.

The University has a responsibility to ensure that all employees are eligible to live and work in the UK.

Any job application submitted with a curriculum vitae should be accompanied by a Cover Sheet for Employment (form CHRIS/6) which can be downloaded from, or may be obtained in hard copy from the advertising Department or Faculty.



Certain of the details published in the Reporter issue of 19 May 2011 (p. 758) were incorrect. The entry should read:

University Lecturer

History and Philosophy of Science. Dr Anna Alexandrova, B.Sc., Nicosia, M.Sc., London School of Economics and Political Science, Ph.D., San Diego, appointed from 1 September 2011 until the retiring age and subject to a probationary period of five years.