WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Katharine Cashman FRS and Emma Stibbon RA at Spike Island, Bristol in 2018.

Creative Connections: Portraits of Women Scientists and Artists

An exhibition of photographic portraits of female scientists and artists.

Good Government Bad Government

Thu 7 November - Fri 20 December

Alison Richard Building

The title of the exhibition ‘Good Government Bad Government’ refers to the Lorenzetti murals in Siena. These frescoes embrace the city and the wider country and the links between them, they portray the vitality and humanity but also the huge problems faced by a city-state in 1338-39; the mural is a touchstone for this collaborative exhibition.

Johnson and Creber have spent many happy hours, working alongside their community, at the bottom of the telescope looking upwards at the machinery of government; making images of how this labyrinthine and ever-growing institution works in practice in some of the most challenging communities in this country. They have found an affinity in each other’s work, based on a deep commitment to observe and narrate personal chronicles about the social and physical landscape of their neighbourhoods, interweaving themes of society, politics, with everyday scenes.

There are images about mistrust; people in the community feel as if no one is in control of the beast any more, and that many beloved treasures are at risk, whether that be a local park being lost to a developer, or the NHS being lost to the private sector. There are positive stories about how individuals make a community; how family life, local history, friendship and tolerance are developing a new community spirit.

Both artists work in a contemporary narrative style that is informed by murals and the Western European painting tradition.

Cost: free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Opening hours change with the University term dates:
Open weekdays from 09:00 – 19:00 (in term), 09:00 – 17:00 (out of term)
Term dates can be found here: https://www.cam.ac.uk/about-the-university/term-dates-and-calendars

Enquiries: Judith Weik Website Email: jw571@cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223 747471

Timing

9:00am-5:00pm on weekdays from Thursday 7 November until Friday 20 December (except on Bank Holidays)

All times

Thu 7 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 11 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 18 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 25 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 29 November 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 2 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 3 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 4 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 5 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
TodayFri 6 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 9 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 10 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 11 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 12 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 13 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 16 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 17 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 18 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 19 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 20 December 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Alison Richard Building
All floors
Sidgwick Site
7 West Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9DP
United Kingdom
Map
Email: jw571@cam.ac.uk
Telephone: 01223 747471
Website