WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

A robin, one of the the British species whose genome is being sequenced as part of the 25 genome Project.

Curious Nature

The natural world around us is a curious place! Visit the Genome Gallery during one of the Wellcome Genome Campus Open Saturdays to explore our latest family-friendly exhibition, and discover how genome sequencing is helping us uncover much more about it.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo

The Humility of Plaster: Florian Roithmayr

Tue 4 September - Sun 14 October

Kettle's Yard House and Gallery

Research material by Florian Roithmayr will be on display in the research space at Kettle's Yard.

Florian Roithmayr’s Humility of Plaster is a two-year research and exhibition project exploring the materiality of collections housing plaster moulds and casts across Europe, enabled through a new partnership between the Museum of Classical Archaeology, Kettle’s Yard, and Wysing Arts Centre where Roithmayr has a studio.

Moulding and casting are widely used techniques of modern and contemporary art making. Their use and application can be found beyond the disciplinary art canon, in areas not immediately associated with art practices, and in times before casting became an acceptable form of sculptural production in its own right.

Roithmayr has developed a new body of sculptures in response to this research that is presented amongst the collection of plaster casts of classical works at the Museum of Classical Archaeology, until 3 November.

Cost: FREE

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Booking is not required. The exhibition is unticketed.

Timing

11:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Sunday every week from Tuesday 4 September until Sunday 14 October

All times

Tue 4 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 5 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 6 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 7 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 8 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 9 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 11 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 12 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 13 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 14 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 15 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 16 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 18 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 19 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 20 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 21 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 22 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 23 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 25 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 26 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 27 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 28 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 29 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 30 September 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 2 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 3 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 4 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 5 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 6 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 7 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 9 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 10 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 11 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 12 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 13 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 14 October 11:00AM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Kettle's Yard House and Gallery
Research space
Kettle's Yard
Castle Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 0AQ
Map
Email: mail@kettlesyard.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 748100
Fax: +44 1223 324377
Website