WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Open Saturday: Defeat The Helix

An alien life-form known as The Helix has found Earth and is taking over the planet as we know it! Can you solve clues to defeat them? Enter Mission HQ at the Wellcome Genome Campus and work together - only your skills puzzle-solving can save us now!

Catherine

Beauty Salon

Thu 9 May - Fri 14 June

Alison Richard Building

An exhibition by artists Alli Sharma, Cathy Lomax and Jennifer Campbell.

Beauty Salon examines the very feminine subject of beauty in a visceral and challenging manner. The paintings and sculptures in the exhibition investigate the work that goes into achieving and maintaining the surface of appearance by confronting, critiquing and celebrating the ritual and routine of beauty. Alongside this, the artists foreground and unpick the resulting display of beauty as displayed in fashion, film, art history, advertising and on social media.

An accompanying Beauty Salon zine extends the themes of the exhibition with contributions from Paul Kindersley and Alex Michon alongside writing and visuals from the artists and will be available at the exhibition.

An exhibition Private View will take place on Saturday 18 May from 15:00-18:00, all welcome!

Cost: free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Judith Weik Website Email: jw571@cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223760488

Timing

9:00am-7:00pm on weekdays from Thursday 9 May until Friday 14 June (except on Bank Holidays)

All times

Thu 9 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 10 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 13 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 14 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 15 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 16 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 17 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 20 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 21 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 22 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 23 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 24 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 28 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 29 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 30 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 31 May 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 3 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 4 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 5 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 6 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 7 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 10 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 11 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 12 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 13 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 14 June 9:00AM - 7:00PM

Venue

Address: Alison Richard Building
Sidgwick Site
7 West Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9DT
Map