WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Deep Autumn, Fang Zhaoling

Women in Art: Hong Kong

Women in Art: Hong Kong brings together the works of seven contemporary female artists covering the past 50 years of artistic development in Hong Kong. The works, which are in a variety of media from ink drawing to installation, all explore contemporary politics and the role of female artists within it.

James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), En Plein Soleil, from ‘Twelve Etchings from Nature’

The Gentle Art: Friends and strangers in Whistler’s prints

Tue 29 January - Sun 12 May

Fitzwilliam Museum

To complement the major show on James McNeill Whistler, the Print Room is holding an exhibition of the artist’s etchings, drypoints and lithographs from the Fitzwilliam’s collection, focussing on people. The range will include figures emerging from the shadows in the artist’s early ‘French set’ of the 1850s, intimate domestic scenes of friends and fellow artists in London, and late lithographs of nudes and portraits of his sister-in-law ‘Bunnie’, made in the 1890s. Whistler’s relationships with a number of friends quickly soured as they became the victims of his humour. On such occasions his butterfly signature acquired a barbed tail to match the sting of his sharp wit, as immortalised in his collection of letters and pamphlets, such as 'The Gentle Art of Making Enemies' that is displayed in the exhibition.

Cost: Free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Tuesday 29 January 2019 until Saturday 11 May 2019

12:00pm-5:00pm Sunday every week from Sunday 3 February 2019 until Sunday 12 May 2019

12:00pm-5:00pm on Monday 22 April 2019

12:00pm-5:00pm on Monday 6 May 2019

All times

Tue 29 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 30 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 31 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 29 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 30 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 31 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 2 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 3 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 4 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 5 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 6 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 7 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 9 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 10 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 11 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 12 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 13 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 14 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 16 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 17 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 18 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 19 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 20 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 21 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Mon 22 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 23 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 24 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 25 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 26 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 27 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 28 April 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 30 April 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 1 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 2 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 3 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 5 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Mon 6 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 7 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 8 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 9 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 10 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 11 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 12 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1RB
Map
Email: fitzmuseum-enquiries@lists.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 332900
Fax: +44 1223 332923
Website