WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Open Saturday: Defeat The Helix

An alien life-form known as The Helix has found Earth and is taking over the planet as we know it! Can you solve clues to defeat them? Enter Mission HQ at the Wellcome Genome Campus and work together - only your skills puzzle-solving can save us now!

The Beggarstaff Brothers, ‘Kassama’ Corn Flour, 1894

Beggarstaffs: William Nicholson & James Pryde

Tue 7 May - Sun 4 August

Fitzwilliam Museum

‘Beggarstaffs’ was the pseudonym used by two young painters, William Nicholson and his brother-in-law James Pryde, when they formed a remarkable artistic partnership in the 1890s. Rejecting their conventional art training, they invented an entirely novel collage technique to create the most innovative posters and graphics of the day, including their celebrated Don Quixote design for Henry Irving’s Lyceum Theatre production.

In the later 1890s Nicholson developed his skills as a wood?engraver and produced several much-loved series of coloured prints. His Alphabet and London Types, as well as many arresting portraits of contemporary celebrities brought him renown as a major graphic artist of the decade.

In the early years of the twentieth century both Nicholson and Pryde, though no longer as close as in earlier times, were both acclaimed as leading Modern British painters: Nicholson for the subtlety of his portraits and the brilliant naturalism of his still-life and flower studies and exquisite landscapes; Pryde for the darker, stage-set quality of his street-scenes and imaginary views of sinister ruins.

Pryde and Nicholson’s Beggarstaff graphics and their later individual works as painters have never before been shown together. The exhibition will explore for the first time the fascinating way in which their reciprocal influence and shared love of striking subject matter worked on their very different temperaments to inspire two remarkable artistic careers.

Exhibition curated by Stephen Calloway.

Cost: Free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Tuesday 7 May until Sunday 4 August

12:00pm-5:00pm Sunday every week from Tuesday 7 May until Sunday 4 August

12:00pm-5:00pm on Monday 27 May

All times

Tue 7 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 8 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 9 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 10 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 11 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 12 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 14 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 15 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 16 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 17 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 18 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 19 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 21 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 22 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 23 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 24 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 25 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 26 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Mon 27 May 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 28 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 29 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 30 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 31 May 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 1 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 2 June 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 4 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 5 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 6 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 7 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 8 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 9 June 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 11 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 12 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 13 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 14 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 15 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 16 June 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 18 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 19 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 20 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 21 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 22 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 23 June 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 25 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 26 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 27 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 28 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 29 June 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 30 June 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 2 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 3 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 4 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 5 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 6 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 7 July 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 9 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 10 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 11 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 12 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 13 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 14 July 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 16 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 17 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 18 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 19 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 20 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 21 July 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 23 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 24 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 25 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 26 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 27 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 28 July 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 30 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 31 July 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 1 August 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 2 August 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 3 August 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 4 August 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1RB
Map
Email: fitzmuseum-enquiries@lists.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 332900
Fax: +44 1223 332923
Website