WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Life is Still Life

Life is Still Life presents an exciting selection of modern and contemporary works by women artists in the genre of still life.

Saptarishi by Simon Patterson

Art Exhibition: 'Simon Patterson: Out of Order'

Sun 6 November 2022 - Sun 22 January

Wolfson College

Simon Patterson’s art wittily subverts scientific taxonomies and graphical systems of knowledge: diagrams, maps and charts, lists, instruction-manuals, encyclopaedias, the systems we use to classify and organise our materials rationally.

Frequently his work is trans-systemic, taking one schema for ordering knowledge and inserting into it materials from a wholly different system or systems. The disruptions thus caused are humorous and demanding simultaneously, because Patterson’s art-works require a knowledge of the graphical or text-based schemata he playfully collides with one another.

They also demand the spectator’s familiarity with the sources he deploys – ranging from the Seven Rishis to contemporary football formations, from eighteenth-century novels to twentieth-century films and television.

Patterson’s disruptive reorderings of knowledge systems are often monumental and possess a poetic grandeur, qualities which are strikingly evident in his name-paintings - the works which first brought him to national and international attention - where names ‘substitute’ for representational portraits.

The exhibition will be open to the public from Sunday 6 November.
Opening Times: Saturdays and Sundays 10.00-17.00, until Sunday 22 January.

Please note that the exhibition is occasionally unavailable, for instance during graduations.
It is advisable to contact the Porters' Lodge in advance of your visit (01223 335900).

Cost: Free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Chantal Holland Website Email: events-coordinator@wolfson.cam.ac.uk

Timing

In person

10:00am-5:00pm Saturday-Sunday every week from Sunday 6 November until Sunday 22 January 2023

All times

Sun 6 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 12 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 13 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 19 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 20 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 26 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 27 November 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 3 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 4 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 10 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 11 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 17 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 18 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 24 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 25 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 31 December 2022 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 1 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 7 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 8 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 14 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 15 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 21 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 22 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM

Venue

Combination Room (above Porters' Lodge)
Address: Wolfson College
Barton Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9BB
Map
Email: events-coordinator@wolfson.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)1223 335900
Website