WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

David Hockney new self portrait

Hockney’s Eye: The Art and Technology of Depiction

One of the most influential artists of our time, David Hockney (b.1937) takes over Cambridge this spring and summer with an exhibition across The Fitzwilliam Museum and The Heong Gallery, Downing College.

The Travels of the Arctic

Sun 1 August 2021 - Sun 31 October 2021

The 'Travels of the Artic' online exhibition curated by Dr Anna Gielas (University of Cambridge), launches on gloknos' website on 1 August 2021.

Dr Anna Gielas is an Associate Member of gloknos and a Marie Sk?odowska-Curie Individual European Fellow at the Scott Polar Research Institute in Cambridge, where she investigates discourses on the Arctic in scientific periodicals during the long nineteenth century. She is particularly interested in understanding how different/changing editorial contexts (including editorial interests and value systems) shaped the Arctic as a scientific object. Pursuing a geographically broad understanding of print artefacts and scientific materiality, her research project includes European and non-European countries.

As part of her MSCA project, she also works with editorial offices of today’s scientific journals on Arctic research, endeavouring to make present-day scientific communication on the north-polar region more robust.

Furthermore, as an Associate at the Centre of Governance and Human Rights, she conducts research on the long-term effects of the humanitarian crisis of roughly 800,000 seafarers who have been stranded due to COVID-19 safety regulations of governments around the globe, facing difficulties embarking and disembarking ships as well as returning to their home countries. This project combines her central interests as a political scientist, namely Human Rights and Maritime Security.

Visit the exhibition via: http://gloknos.ac.uk/research/activities/exhibitions/travels-of-the-arctic

Cost: free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Website

Timing

Available on Demand

12:01am-11:59pm daily from Sunday 1 August 2021 until Sunday 31 October 2021

All times

Sun 1 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 2 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 3 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 4 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 5 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 6 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 7 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 8 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 9 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 10 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 11 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 12 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 13 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 14 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 15 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 16 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 17 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 18 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 19 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 20 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 21 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 22 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 23 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 24 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 25 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 26 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 27 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 28 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 29 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 30 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 31 August 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 1 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 2 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 3 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 4 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 5 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 6 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 7 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 8 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 9 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 10 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 11 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 12 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 13 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 14 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 15 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 16 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 17 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 18 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 19 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 20 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 21 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 22 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 23 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 24 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 25 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 26 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 27 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 28 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 29 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 30 September 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 1 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 2 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 3 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 4 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 5 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 6 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 7 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 8 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 9 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 10 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 11 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 12 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 13 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 14 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 15 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 16 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 17 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 18 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 19 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 20 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 21 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 22 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 23 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 24 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 25 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 26 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 27 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 28 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 29 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 30 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 31 October 2021 12:01AM - 11:59PM

Venue

Please note: the venue is to be confirmed

Address:
Website