WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Cobalt Blue Agate Geode. Jarman, Angela (British, b. 1971). Lead crystal, cast and polished, with mixed blue murrini insert. Height, whole, 12.5 cm, diameter, 20 cm, 2017. Acquisition Credit: Given by Nicholas and Judith Goodison through The Art Fund.

OF THE EARTH: Contemporary Ceramics and Glass from The Fitzwilliam Museum

Since the early twentieth century, studio ceramics and glass have enjoyed great popularity in Britain. This exhibition showcases some of the most interesting work being produced in Britain today.

The Travels of the Arctic

Sun 1 August - Sun 31 October

The 'Travels of the Artic' online exhibition curated by Dr Anna Gielas (University of Cambridge), launches on gloknos' website on 1 August 2021.

Dr Anna Gielas is an Associate Member of gloknos and a Marie Sk?odowska-Curie Individual European Fellow at the Scott Polar Research Institute in Cambridge, where she investigates discourses on the Arctic in scientific periodicals during the long nineteenth century. She is particularly interested in understanding how different/changing editorial contexts (including editorial interests and value systems) shaped the Arctic as a scientific object. Pursuing a geographically broad understanding of print artefacts and scientific materiality, her research project includes European and non-European countries.

As part of her MSCA project, she also works with editorial offices of today’s scientific journals on Arctic research, endeavouring to make present-day scientific communication on the north-polar region more robust.

Furthermore, as an Associate at the Centre of Governance and Human Rights, she conducts research on the long-term effects of the humanitarian crisis of roughly 800,000 seafarers who have been stranded due to COVID-19 safety regulations of governments around the globe, facing difficulties embarking and disembarking ships as well as returning to their home countries. This project combines her central interests as a political scientist, namely Human Rights and Maritime Security.

Visit the exhibition via: http://gloknos.ac.uk/research/activities/exhibitions/travels-of-the-arctic

Cost: free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Website

Timing

Available on Demand

12:01am-11:59pm daily from Sunday 1 August until Sunday 31 October

All times

Sun 1 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 2 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 3 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 4 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 5 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 6 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 7 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 8 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 9 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 10 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 11 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 12 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 13 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 14 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 15 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 16 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 17 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 18 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 19 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 20 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 21 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 22 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 23 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 24 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 25 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 26 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 27 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 28 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 29 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 30 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 31 August 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 1 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 2 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 3 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 4 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 5 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 6 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 7 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 8 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 9 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 10 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 11 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 12 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 13 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 14 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 15 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 16 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 17 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 18 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 19 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 20 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 21 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 22 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 23 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 24 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 25 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
TodaySun 26 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 27 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 28 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 29 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 30 September 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 1 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 2 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 3 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 4 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 5 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 6 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 7 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 8 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 9 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 10 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 11 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 12 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 13 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 14 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 15 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 16 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 17 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 18 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 19 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 20 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 21 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 22 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 23 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 24 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Mon 25 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Tue 26 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Wed 27 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Thu 28 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Fri 29 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sat 30 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM
Sun 31 October 12:01AM - 11:59PM

Venue

Please note: the venue is to be confirmed

Address:
Website