Statutes and Ordinances of the University of Cambridge
p. 69

The General Board, the Schools, and the assignment of Faculties, Departments etc.
(Special Ordinance under Statute A V)

1. Members of the General Board in classes (b) and (c) pursuant to Statute A V 2 shall serve for four years, half the members in each class being appointed at the same time as, or shortly after, each biennial election of members of the Council. Changes of membership shall take effect from 1 January next following. Further arrangements for the election of members in class (b) shall be made by Ordinance.

2. The members of the General Board in class (d) shall be

  1. (i)the Education Officer of Cambridge University Students' Union;
  2. (ii)the President of the Graduate Union.

The members in class (d) shall serve for one year from the commencement of their term of office as Education Officer or President, as the case may be. If the member in category (i) of class (d) ceases to be the Education Officer of Cambridge University Students' Union or if the member in category (ii) of class (d) ceases to be President of the Graduate Union, that member’s seat shall thereupon become vacant.

3. These Schools are established by this Special Ordinance. They comprise the following faculties (and the departments contained in them) and other institutions, which are assigned by Ordinance:

ARTS AND HUMANITIES: Faculties of Architecture and History of Art, of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, of Classics, of Divinity, of English, of Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics, of Music, and of Philosophy, the Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences, and Humanities, and the Language Centre.

HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCES: Faculties of Economics, of Education, of History, of Human, Social, and Political Science, and of Law, the Departments of History and Philosophy of Science and of Land Economy.

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES: Faculties of Biology, and of Veterinary Medicine, the Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, and the Sainsbury Laboratory.

CLINICAL MEDICINE: Faculty of Clinical Medicine.

PHYSICAL SCIENCES: Faculties of Earth Sciences and Geography, of Mathematics, and of Physics and Chemistry, and the Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences.

TECHNOLOGY: Faculties of Business and Management, of Computer Science and Technology, and of Engineering, the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, and the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership.