< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Wolfson College

Appointed to Honorary Fellowships

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, (Hon) Mus.D
Baroness Scotland of Asthal QC

Elected to a Professorial Fellowship under Title A

Timothy John Mead, Ph.D., CHU, B.Sc., London, Registrary of the University

Elected to Official Fellowships under Title C

Sonja Meier, L.L.M., London, Faculty Assistant Lecturer in Law
Nicholas Oliver, M.A., Edinburgh, Ph.D., Open, Reader in Management Studies

Elected to Research Fellows under Title D

Ning Jennifer Chang, Ph.D., M.A., Fujen Catholic University, Taiwan, Universities China Committee Fellow in Chinese History and Language
Joya Chatterji, B.A., Ph.D., B.A., Delhi, Senior Research Fellow in History
Anne Margaret Elizabeth Baker, M.A., Ph.D., Junior Research Fellow in Crystallography
Thomas Peter Harte, B.E., University College, Dublin, M.Sc., Edinburgh, Junior Research Fellow in Computer Science
Aaron Mark Lee, Ph.D., B.Sc., Western Australia, Junior Research Fellow in Theoretical Chemistry
Nadia Anatolia Stelmashenko, Ph.D., Junior Research Fellow in Physics
John Michael Crowther Thornton, B.Sc., Ph.D., Cardiff, Wolfson-Hitachi Fellow in Microelectronics
Jason Peter Brown, B.Sc., Leicester, Wolfson-Parke-Davis Junior Research Fellow in Neuroscience
Maria Isabel Gonzalez, Ph.D., Wolfson-Parke-Davis Junior Research Fellow in Neuroscience
Mark Barrett Hepworth, Ph.D., Bristol, Wolfson-Parke-Davis Junior Research Fellow in Neuroscience
Julia Alexandra Helen Lainton, Ph.D., Imperial College, London, Wolfson-Parke-Davis Junior Research Fellow in Neuroscience
Alison Margaret Reid, Ph.D., Durham, Wolfson-Parke-Davis Junior Research Fellow in Neuroscience

Elected to Visiting Fellowships under Title F

Professor Tahir Amin, Professor of International Relations, Quaid-I-Azam University, Pakistan (1997-1998)
Dr Frank Robert Bongiorno, Smuts Visiting Fellow in History, Australian National University (1997-1998)
Professor Malcolm Good, Professor of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, University of Melbourne (June 1997 to January 1998)
Professor Christopher Hill, Professor of Philosophy, University of Arkansas (October 1997 to May 1998)
Dr Zane Ma Rhea, Smuts Visiting Fellow in Sociology, University of South Australia (1997-1998)
Mr Charles P. Thacker, Director of Advanced Systems, Microsoft Research Limited (1997-1999)
Dr Julio Trebolle, BBV Fellow in Divinity, Director of the Institute for Religious Studies, Universidad Complutense, Madrid


Wolfson College invites applications for non-stipendiary Junior Research Fellowships under Categories II and III of its Ordinances governing Junior Research Fellows.

 The Fellowships, which are without limit of subject, are tenable for one year from 1 October 1998 and renewable up to a maximum tenure of three years.

 Candidates shall normally be aged not more than thirty on 1 October 1998, but consideration will be given to persons over this age if they began their research at a significantly later age than usual, and to those who have interrupted their careers for family or other reasons. Candidates will either have a doctorate or have made substantial progress towards a doctorate or an equivalent qualification by that date.

 Candidates must produce satisfactory evidence that they have adequate financial support for the duration of their Fellowship before they take up their Fellowship. The Fellowships do not cover the cost of bench fees or other University fees.

 Junior Research Fellows are expected to produce to the Fellowship Committee from time to time during their tenure evidence that they are satisfactorily proceeding with their research.

 Intending candidates should submit fully detailed applications on forms available from the President's Secretary, Wolfson College, Cambridge, CB3 9BB. The closing date for applications is 22 January 1998.

< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Cambridge University Reporter, 19th November 1997
Copyright © 1997 The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge.