Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events


Camerata Musica Cambridge Concert Series 2018/19: ARCADI VOLODOS, piano

Schubert, Moments musicaux, D. 780 Schubert, Sonata in F minor, D. 625 Works by Rachmaninov, and Scriabin Internationally acclaimed as one the very greatest pianistS alive today, Arcadi Volodos twins Schubert's lyricism with the fire and drama of two of the finest Russian composers of the 20th century: Rachmaninov and Scriabin.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo

Endellion String Quartet

Wed 16 May 2018

West Road Concert Hall

Barber’s expressive quartet includes the Adagio which in its arrangement for string orchestra is one of the twentieth century’s most loved and most played pieces. Here in its original quartet form it has the intimacy and the extreme stretching of sonority that was part of its force in its original conception. Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ is as sun-blessed as its nickname suggests. Brahms’s intense C minor masterpiece is the first quartet he allowed to be published after destroying dozens with which he was dissatisfied (probably quite unnecessarily).

Haydn String Quartet Op.76 No.4 (‘Sunrise’)
Barber String Quartet Op.11
Brahms String Quartet No.1 Op.51 No.1

Cost: £27, £25 (OAP), £13 (Reg. disabled), £6 (Student, Under 16s). 20% off for groups of 10+

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

Booking is recommended for this event.

Enquiries: Cambridge Live Website Email: tickets@cambridgelivetrust.co.uk Telephone: 01223 357851


All times

Wed 16 May 2018 7:30PM - 9:45PM


Address: West Road Concert Hall
11 West Road
Email: westroad@mus.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)1223 335184