WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Katharine Cashman FRS and Emma Stibbon RA at Spike Island, Bristol in 2018.

Creative Connections: Portraits of Women Scientists and Artists

An exhibition of photographic portraits of female scientists and artists.

24 Portraits: Recovering and Reimagining Women's Labour

Fri 1 November - Fri 7 February 2020

Department of Pathology

Emma Copley has created a site-specific installation of painted portraits of women who currently work in all areas of the Department of Pathology at the University of Cambridge including laboratory managers, academics, cleaners, lecturers, administrators and technicians.

Her aim is to celebrate and address the representation of women working in all types of jobs in this department. After researching how many women work in the Department of Pathology, and what that work entails; she photographed a small selection of them and from these photographs created a series of 24 painted portraits. The portraits are painted in black paint on transparent Perspex and installed in a large window. The light coming in the window will allow the image to be seen, similar to images created in stained glass.

By creating these paintings that represent women carrying out all forms of labour in the department, she has intended to elevate these sometimes undervalued images of women and their job roles. By placing the portrait installation in between the existing memorial/commemorative bronze relief portraits of men, she wants to create visual connections between both sets of images, enabling the viewer to confront the visual representation of women in the department.

Visitors must check in at the ground floor for a visitors pass and be escorted to view the art work. Large groups please call in advance.

Cost: Free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Holly Pines Website Email: pinesholly@gmail.com Telephone: 01223 765050

Timing

10:00am-4:00pm on weekdays from Friday 1 November until Friday 7 February 2020

All times

Fri 1 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 4 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 5 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 6 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 7 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 8 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 11 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 12 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 13 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 14 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 15 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 18 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 19 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 20 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 21 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 22 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 25 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 26 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 27 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 28 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 29 November 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 2 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 3 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 4 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 5 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
TodayFri 6 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 9 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 10 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 11 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 12 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 13 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 16 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 17 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 18 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 19 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 20 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 23 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 24 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 25 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 26 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 27 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 30 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 31 December 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 1 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 2 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 3 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 6 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 7 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 8 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 9 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 10 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 13 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 14 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 15 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 16 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 17 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 20 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 21 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 22 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 23 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 24 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 27 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 28 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 29 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 30 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 31 January 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Mon 3 February 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 4 February 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 5 February 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 6 February 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 7 February 2020 10:00AM - 4:00PM

Venue

Address: Department of Pathology
Tennis Court Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1QP
Map
Email: admin@path.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 333690
Fax: +44 1223 333346
Website