WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Cambridge lecturer Solomon Schechter among thousands of Genizah fragments in his office after their transportation from the Ben Ezra synagogue in Cairo.

Discarded History: The Genizah of Medieval Cairo

This exhibition provides a window on the life of a community a thousand years ago – a Jewish community in the centre of a thriving Islamic empire, international in outlook, multicultural in make up, devout to its core.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo
Dick Laws Image

Dick Laws: Antarctic Scientist and Artist, A retrospective

Wed 1 March - Sat 25 March

The Polar Museum

Dick Laws (1926-2014) was the leading marine mammal scientist of his generation, working in the Antarctic to develop new techniques and approaches to population studies of seals and whales. After pioneering similar approaches with large mammals in Africa he returned to the UK as Head of Life Sciences, then Director, of the British Antarctic Survey. As well as his scientific credentials, Dick Laws was also a very fine self-taught artist. This exhibition seeks to illustrate the progressive development of his art and its two main applications, first in providing technical illustrations for his scientific publications, and second as a recreational hobby.

Cost: Free

Ages: 12+

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Website

Timing

10:00am-4:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Wednesday 1 March until Saturday 25 March

All times

Wed 1 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 2 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 3 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Sat 4 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 7 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 8 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 9 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 10 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Sat 11 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 14 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 15 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 16 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 17 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Sat 18 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Tue 21 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Wed 22 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Thu 23 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Fri 24 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM
Sat 25 March 10:00AM - 4:00PM

Venue

Address: The Polar Museum
Scott Polar Research Institute
Lensfield Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1ER
Map
Email: museum@spri.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)1223 336540
Fax: +44 (0)1223 336540
Website