WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

A robin, one of the the British species whose genome is being sequenced as part of the 25 genome Project.

Curious Nature and Open Lab visits

The natural world around us is a curious place! Visit the Genome Gallery during one of the Wellcome Genome Campus Open Saturdays to explore our latest family-friendly exhibition, and discover how genome sequencing is helping us uncover much more about it. Also visit Open Lab, our exciting new space to learn about the current science, history, and ethos of the Wellcome Genome Campus.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo

Whistler & Nature

Tue 8 January - Sun 17 March

Fitzwilliam Museum

Whistler & Nature casts a new light on the work of the great late-Victorian master, James McNeill Whistler. Born in America, but living in the UK for most of his life, he was known as an artist with a bold personality and a revolutionary attitude towards the natural world.

Featuring around 90 paintings, sketches and prints, the exhibition examines how his family involvement in early 19th-century industry, and pursuit of a career in the US military, shaped his knowledge of observational drawing and influenced his artistic style. It also looks afresh at his work in the context of attitudes to landscape in British art and design. Whistler’s smoky images of warehouses, harbours and industrial scenes were designed to showcase a new kind of productive, wealth-generating landscape for the modern Victorian age.

Exhibition developed by Compton Verney, in partnership with The Hunterian, University of Glasgow.

Cost: Free

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-5:00pm Tuesday-Saturday every week from Tuesday 8 January 2019 until Saturday 16 March 2019

12:00pm-5:00pm Sunday every week from Sunday 13 January 2019 until Sunday 17 March 2019

All times

Tue 8 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 9 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 10 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 11 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 12 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 13 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 15 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 16 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 17 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 18 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 19 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 20 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 22 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
TodayWed 23 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 24 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 25 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 26 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 27 January 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 29 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 30 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 31 January 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 19 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 20 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 21 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 22 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 February 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 26 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 27 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 28 February 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 1 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 5 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 6 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 7 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 8 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Tue 12 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 13 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 14 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 15 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 March 10:00AM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 March 12:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Fitzwilliam Museum
Trumpington Street
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1RB
Map
Email: fitzmuseum-enquiries@lists.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 332900
Fax: +44 1223 332923
Website