WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Dick Laws Image

Dick Laws: Antarctic Scientist and Artist, A retrospective

An exhibition revealing the interplay between the scientific and artistic work of the leading marine mammal scientist of his generation, Dick Laws (1926-2014).

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo
Dendrobium gouldii

Orchids 2017: Another India

Sun 12 February - Sun 12 March

Botanic Garden

Orchids 2017: Another India is an exploration of India’s natural heritage and is part of a wider University of Cambridge Museum (UCM) event 'India Unboxed'
to mark the 70th anniversary of India’s independence from Britain. Visitors to the Botanic Garden will be introduced to the many varied species of orchids growing throughout India’s diverse habitats as different parts of the Glasshouses will showcase species from the cool growing orchids found in the Himalayas to the tree hanging species found in the steamy tropics. Among the varied and vibrant orchids on display will be structures, images and objects representing different aspects of Indian culture alongside some of India’s key economic crops. Rice, pepper, cotton, turmeric and tea plants jostle with tea crates and hessian sacks to introduce the economic and cultural importance of these crops to the visitor.

Cost: Normal admission price applies.

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-4:30pm daily from Sunday 12 February until Sunday 12 March

All times

Sun 12 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Mon 13 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Tue 14 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Wed 15 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Thu 16 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Fri 17 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sat 18 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sun 19 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Mon 20 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Tue 21 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Wed 22 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Thu 23 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Fri 24 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sat 25 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sun 26 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Mon 27 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Tue 28 February 10:00AM - 4:30PM
TodayWed 1 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Thu 2 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Fri 3 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sat 4 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sun 5 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Mon 6 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Tue 7 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Wed 8 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Thu 9 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Fri 10 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sat 11 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM
Sun 12 March 10:00AM - 4:30PM

Venue

Address: Botanic Garden
1 Brookside
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1JE
Map
Email: enquiries@botanic.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 1223 336265
Fax: +44 1223 336278
Website