WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Madonnas & Miracles

Peer through the keyhole of the Italian Renaissance home and discover a hidden world of religious devotion. Bringing together a wealth of objects, including jewellery, ceramics, books, sculptures and paintings, the exhibition invites us into a domestic sphere that was charged with spiritual significance.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo
Julia Ball, Fen

Complementing Solitude

Mon 3 April - Fri 26 May

Alison Richard Building

This exhibition showcases works by two Cambridge artists from different generations, who are approaching colour, material and abstraction in contrasting ways. The exhibition aims to span these differences and to create interesting visual conversations in the spaces of the Alison Richard Building.

Julia Ball was born in Devon in 1930. She trained at Reading University as a printmaker and has lived in Cambridge since the early 1960s. The East Anglian coast has influenced her work with its spectacular space, light and colour. Agnes Martin and Winifred Nicholson have also both been influential in her work. Julia is represented in the Kettleā€™s Yard as well as the New Hall art collections.

Loukas Morley studied photography and cinematography at college; the multiple layers found in his paintings bearing reference to the layering of narratives, colour, compilation and framing. He is spare and precise in his work; his paintings are like traces of a performance that took place in his studio. The materiality of paint and its physical relationship with the body, enable him to choreograph compositions that are the tangible placements of his mark making. Loukas is currently artist in residence at Christs College, University of Cambridge.

Cost: free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

For occasional weekend opening times please contact Judith Weik

Enquiries: Judith Weik Website Email: jw571@cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223 760488

Timing

9:00am-6:00pm on weekdays from Monday 3 April until Friday 26 May (except on Bank Holidays)

All times

Mon 3 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 4 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 5 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 6 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 7 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 10 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 11 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 12 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 13 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 18 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 19 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 20 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 21 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 24 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 25 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 26 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 27 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 28 April 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 2 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 3 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 4 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 5 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 8 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 9 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 10 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 11 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 12 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 15 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 16 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 17 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 18 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 19 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Mon 22 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Tue 23 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Wed 24 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Thu 25 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM
Fri 26 May 9:00AM - 6:00PM

Venue

Address: Alison Richard Building
All floors
7 West Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9DT
Map
Telephone: 01223 760488