WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Genomic Expressions

Genomic Expressions exhibition asks the question 'What does genomics mean to you?' to those who work at the Wellcome Genome Campus. Some answers may make you smile, some are heart-warming but all encourage us, the viewer, to reflect on our own answer to the question.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo

When the Heavens Meet the Earth: Selected works from Robert Devereux's Sina Jina Collection of Contemporary Art

Sat 25 February 2017 - Sat 27 May 2017

The Heong Gallery at Downing College

When the Heavens Meet the Earth brings together selected works from Robert Devereux’s contemporary art collection, highlighting his commitment to emerging artists who challenge Western preconceptions of, and hegemony over, cultural expression and contemporary art. More than thirty-five works have been brought together and are part of his Sina Jina Collection, usually housed in a restored merchant’s house in Lamu, Kenya. It is literally called ‘the place with no name’. As a collector, Robert Devereux is focused upon supporting artists and giving them the confidence to develop their practice.

In an ambitious, high-density hang, the exhibition includes works by artists from Benin, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Several live and work in Europe and the United States of America but draw much of their inspiration and artistic idioms from their trans-national roots. The works cover multiple media, from photography and painting to sculpture and film. Impactful, provocative and playful, the works explore everyday life, politics, human rights, LGBT+ representation and identity.

In 2010 Robert Devereux recognised how hard it is for many artists to make a career in art, particularly those based in Africa, a continent he had grown to know and feel connected to. As a result, he placed for sale through Sotheby’s, four hundred and sixteen works from his collection of post-war British art. The proceeds helped establish The African Arts Trust (TAAT), a body that continues to fund grass roots organisations in expanding opportunities for artists. This exhibition offers the UK a rare chance to see further evidence of Robert Devereux’s support for artists.

When the Heavens Meet the Earth is the fourth exhibition at The Heong Gallery, and continues Downing College’s commitment to presenting significant international art in Cambridge, with the aim of encouraging discussion and debate amongst both students and residents. Robert Devereux is a Downing College alumnus.

ARTISTS included in the exhibition:
Ruby Amanze · El Anatsui · Sammy Baloji · Nathalie Mba Bikoro · Rotimi Fani-Kayode · Samuel Fosso · Meschac Gaba · Romuald Hazoumè · Peterson Kamwathi · Richard Kimathi · Marcia Kure · Moshekwa Langa · Mário Macilau · Ibrahim Mahama · Ato Malinda · Nandipha Mntambo · Zanele Muholi · Aida Muluneh · Otobong Nkanga · Anthony Okello · Nnenna Okore · Malick Sidibé · Misheck Masamvu · Pascal Marthine Tayou · Barthélémy Toguo · Beatrice Wanjiku · Lynette Yiadom-Boakye · Dominique Zinkpè.

Cost: Free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Timing

10:00am-6:00pm Saturday every week from Saturday 25 February until Sunday 28 May

12:00pm-8:00pm Wednesday every week from Saturday 25 February until Sunday 21 May

12:00pm-5:00pm Friday every week from Saturday 25 February until Sunday 21 May

12:00pm-5:00pm Sunday every week from Saturday 25 February until Sunday 21 May

All times

Sat 25 February 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 26 February 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 1 March 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 3 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 4 March 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 5 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 8 March 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 10 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 11 March 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 12 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 15 March 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 17 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 18 March 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 19 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 22 March 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 24 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 25 March 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 26 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 29 March 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 31 March 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 1 April 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 2 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 5 April 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 7 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 8 April 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 9 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 12 April 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 14 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 15 April 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 16 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 19 April 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 21 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 22 April 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 23 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 26 April 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 28 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 29 April 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 30 April 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 3 May 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 5 May 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 6 May 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 7 May 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 10 May 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 12 May 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 13 May 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 14 May 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Wed 17 May 2017 12:00PM - 8:00PM
Fri 19 May 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 20 May 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM
Sun 21 May 2017 12:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 27 May 2017 10:00AM - 6:00PM

Venue

Facebook: The Heong Gallery at Downing College
Twitter: @HeongGallery
Address: The Heong Gallery at Downing College
Downing College
Cambridge CB2 1DQ
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB2 1DQ
Email: gallery@dow.cam.ac.uk
Website