WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

Discovery: 200 years of the Cambridge Philosophical Society

Founded in 1819, the Cambridge Philosophical Society provided an open forum for Cambridge graduates to discuss current scientific ideas and present new research. This exhibition shows us how the activity of the Cambridge Philosophical Society underpins 200 years of discovery.

Exhibition: Permeable Spaces

Thu 8 August - Fri 13 September

Alison Richard Building

Alexandra Baraitser, Amanda Lwin, Clio Lloyd-Jacob, Louise Butler Adams, Melissa Pierce Murray, Tooney Phillips, Stephanie Kingston, Andrew James

Works in this exhibition reflect on or highlight through contrast, spaces where multiple stimuli vie for attention or coexist in precarious balance. To what extent do we internalise objects and walls as boundaries? How do they structure the narratives of our thought? How does the prevalence of reflective, glass and metal surfaces in contemporary environments affect our perception of space and of ourselves? What, in our surroundings, reflects our influence, and how do we cope when there seems to be nothing?

The viewer is encouraged to imaginatively inhabit these artworks, constructing their own narratives and responses. We are relating this artwork to a broader context, with a live art performance, and a cross-disciplinary discussion on various aspects of how societies create and use boundaries.

Exhibition Closing Event, Thursday 12 September 2019
6.00pm: Coop (Andrew James & Clio Lloyd-Jacob) perform ‘UpSet’
6.30pm – 7.30pm: Drinks, Discussion and Q&A
Please join us for this free evening

Cost: free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Judith Weik Website Email: jw571@cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223760488

Timing

9:00am-5:00pm on weekdays from Thursday 8 August until Friday 13 September

All times

Thu 8 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 9 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 12 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 13 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 14 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 15 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 16 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 19 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 20 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 21 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 22 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
TodayFri 23 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 26 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 27 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 28 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 29 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 30 August 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 2 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 3 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 4 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 5 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 6 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Mon 9 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Tue 10 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Wed 11 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Thu 12 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM
Fri 13 September 9:00AM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Alison Richard Building
All floors
Sidgwick Site
7 West Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9DT
Map
Website