WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
Catherine

Beauty Salon

Thu 9 May 2019 - Fri 14 June 2019

Alison Richard Building

An exhibition by artists Alli Sharma, Cathy Lomax and Jennifer Campbell.

Beauty Salon examines the very feminine subject of beauty in a visceral and challenging manner. The paintings and sculptures in the exhibition investigate the work that goes into achieving and maintaining the surface of appearance by confronting, critiquing and celebrating the ritual and routine of beauty. Alongside this, the artists foreground and unpick the resulting display of beauty as displayed in fashion, film, art history, advertising and on social media.

An accompanying Beauty Salon zine extends the themes of the exhibition with contributions from Paul Kindersley and Alex Michon alongside writing and visuals from the artists and will be available at the exhibition.

An exhibition Private View will take place on Saturday 18 May from 15:00-18:00, all welcome!

Cost: free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Judith Weik Website Email: jw571@cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223760488

Timing

9:00am-7:00pm on weekdays from Thursday 9 May until Friday 14 June (except on Bank Holidays)

All times

Thu 9 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 10 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 13 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 14 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 15 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 16 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 17 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 20 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 21 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 22 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 23 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 24 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 28 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 29 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 30 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 31 May 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 3 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 4 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 5 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 6 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 7 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Mon 10 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Tue 11 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Wed 12 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Thu 13 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM
Fri 14 June 2019 9:00AM - 7:00PM

Venue

Address: Alison Richard Building
Sidgwick Site
7 West Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9DT
Map