WHAT'S ON

Events open to the public from the University of Cambridge

Submit events
 

Exhibitions

The Year That Made Antarctica

The Year That Made Antarctica

Over dinner in the spring of 1950 a party of scientists produced an ambitious proposal for a global year of science: the International Geophysical Year was born. With a heavy emphasis on Antarctica, thousands of people from dozens of countries came together to learn about our planet.

What's On headline sponsor:

Marshall Group logo
Bridge, oil, 200 x 150cm

Richard Sorrell: a Singular Artist

Sat 27 May - Sun 24 September

Wolfson College

Richard Sorrell (b.1948) is a painter of invented figurative pictures or, put more simply: ‘people doing things’. He works in oil, acrylic and watercolour.

Sorrell's career started as a predominantly landscape, portrait and still-life painter – by instinct a draughtsman, and interested in the appearance of things, particularly plants and animals – an objective painter. His subjective painting – the invented compositions – was a smaller part of his work at this time, but the inventions have come to greater prominence since the 1990s.

The exhibition is open Saturdays and Sundays 3pm to 5pm
(except on 24/25 June and 29/30 July)

Cost: Free

Ages: All ages

Enquiries and booking

No need to book.

Enquiries: Communications Office Website Email: fine-arts@wolfson.cam.ac.uk Telephone: 01223 335900

Timing

3:00pm-5:00pm Saturday-Sunday every week from Saturday 27 May until Sunday 24 September

All times

Sat 27 May 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 28 May 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 3 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 4 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 10 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 11 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 17 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 18 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 24 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 25 June 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 1 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 2 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 8 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 9 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 15 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 16 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 22 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 23 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 29 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 30 July 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 5 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 6 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 12 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 13 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 19 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 20 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 26 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 27 August 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 2 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 3 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 9 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 10 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 16 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 17 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sat 23 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Sun 24 September 3:00PM - 5:00PM

Venue

Address: Wolfson College
Dining Hall and Gallery
Barton Road
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
CB3 9BB
Map
Email: porters@wolfson.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)1223 335900
Website