Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6157

Wednesday 15 July 2009

Vol cxxxix No 37

pp. 961–1000

College Notices

New Hall (Murray Edwards College)


Elected to an Honorary Fellowship from 1 December 2008:

Anne Mary Lonsdale, M.A., Oxford, CBE

Elected to a Non-Stipendiary Research Fellowship for three years from 1 April 2009:

Jonathan Healey, B.A., Oxford, M.A., Reading, Ph.D., Oxford

Elected to Senior Tutor and an Official Fellowship for five years from 1 August 2009:

David Anthony Jarvis, M.A., M.A. Lancaster, Ph.D., Lancaster

Elected to an Official Fellowship in Chemistry for three years from 1 September 2009:

Alston Misquitta, B.Sc. (Hons), St Xavier’s College, Bombay, M.Sc., Indian Institute of Technology, Ph.D., Delaware

Elected to the Maplethorpe Fellowship in Biological Sciences for three years from 1 October 2009:

Nicholas Mundy, M.A., Vet MB, Ph.D., University College London

Elected to a Non-Stipendiary Research Fellowship in Science for three years from 1 October 2009:

Anne Dhulesia, B.Sc., ENS Paris

Elected to a Bye-Fellowship for one year from 1 October 2009:

Gareth David Kingsley Matthews

Pembroke College


Elected to a Bye-Fellowship:

Mark Reinhard Norbert Kotter, M.D. Graz, M.Phil., Ph.D., PEM

St Edmund’s College


Elected into a Class ‘A’ Fellowship:

Dr Pie-Yin Lin, M.Phil., B.A., Fu-Jen, M.A., Kent, Ph.D., London

Elected into Class ‘B’ Fellowships:

Dr Lucy J. Davison, B.A.(Hons), Vet.M.B., N, Ph.D., R.V.C., London, MRCVS

Dr Alan Colli, Ph.D., CHU, Tesi di Laurea, Laurea in Physics, Trieste

Dr Gregor Schwarb, B.A., M.A., Freiburg, Dr.Theol, Freiburg & Jerusalem

Elected into Visiting Fellowships:

Professor Noel Cox, L.L.M.(Hons), M.Theol.(Hons), Ph.D., Auckland, M.A., Lambeth, L.Th., Lampeter, Professor of Law, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand. Visiting Fellow for the Easter Term 2010

Professor John Patrick Loughlin, B.A.(Hons), C.N.A.A., Ph.D., E.U.I., Florence, FRSA, F.R.Hist., AcSS, Professor of European Politics, Cardiff University. isiting Fellow from 1 July – 31 December 2009

Elected into Bye-Fellowships:

Dr José Liht, B.A., Universidad de las Americas, Mexico, M.A., California, Ph.D., Universidad Iberoamericana, Mexico

Miss Catherine A. Dobson, B.A.(Hons), JE, Dip. French Legal Studies, Poitiers, B.C.L., Oxford

Miss Katie L. Snalune, M.A., Vet.M.B., ED, B.Sc., Wye, Cert E.M.(Int. Med.), MRCVS

Dr Robin Bunce, M.Phil., Ph.D., DOW, B.A.(Hons), Kent


Appointed to the G. L. S. Shackle Studentship for the Michaelmas Term 2009:

Mr Andres F. Cantillo, B.A., Columbia, M.A., Missouri

Appointed Associate Members:

Dr Byong Guk Park, B.S., Hanyang, M.S., Ph.D., K.A.I.S.T.

Dr Federico Damonte, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Padua

Dr Alfonso Sorrentino, M.A., Ph.D., Princeton

Visitor to the Senior Combination Room:

Professor Martin Parry, B.A., Durham, M.Sc., West Indies, Ph.D., Edinburgh, Visiting Professor at The Centre for Environmental Policy, Imperial College, London


St Edmund’s College invites applications for the post of Fellow and College Teaching Officer in Economics, from 1 October 2009. The appointment will be for a fixed term of two years, and is subject to the Statutes and Ordinances of the College. There is a shared teaching arrangement with Downing College. The College Teaching Officer will be responsible for the academic work of undergraduates in Economics, and will be required to teach in small group supervisions for about twelve hours a week during term time in preparation for the Cambridge Economics Tripos. He or she will take a full part in the administrative aspects of teaching in Economics at St Edmund’s, including admissions, and will also have duties at Downing College. Applicants should be able to teach across most papers offered by the Faculty, but we are especially interested in candidates who are able to offer teaching in microeconomics. The stipend of the College Teaching Officer, which is pensionable under the Universities Superannuation Scheme, will be on the St Edmund’s College scale at a starting point of £26,539.

The application form and further particulars can be downloaded from the College website:, and can also be obtained from the Master’s Secretary (, or the Development Secretary (tel. 01223 336122, email

Applications, including a curriculum vitae, list of publications, and the names of three academic referees, should be sent to the Master’s Secretary, St Edmund’s College, Cambridge, CB3 0BN ( Applicants are requested to arrange for their academic referees to write directly to the Master (or by email to address above) by the closing date, which is Friday, 31 July 2009.