Skip to main contentCambridge University Reporter

No 6182

Wednesday 10 March 2010

Vol cxl No 23

pp. 637–652



12 March, Friday. Full Term ends.

16 March, Tuesday. Discussion at 2 p.m. in the Senate-House (see below).

24 March, Wednesday. Last ordinary number of the Reporter in the Lent Term.

25 March, Thursday. Lent Term ends.

27 March, Saturday. Congregation of the Regent House at 11 a.m.

Notice of a Discussion on Tuesday, 16 March 2010

The Vice-Chancellor invites those qualified under the regulations for Discussions (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 107) to attend a Discussion in the Senate-House, on Tuesday, 16 March 2010, at 2 p.m., for the discussion of:

1. Report of the General Board, dated 24 February 2010, on the establishment of a Professorship of Management Studies (Reporter, p. 633).

Dates of Discussions for 2010–11: Notice

The Vice-Chancellor gives notice that Discussions will be held on the following days in the academical year 2010–11:


(on Tuesdays at 2 p.m.)

Michaelmas Term 2010

Lent Term 2011

Easter Term 2011

Long Vacation 2011

12 October

25 January

3 May

5 July

26 October

8 February

17 May

9 November

22 February

31 May

23 November

8 March

14 June

7 December

22 March

Election of Student Members of the Council and of the General Board: Notice

4 March 2010

The Vice-Chancellor gives notice that the following candidates have been nominated in accordance with (i) Statute A, IV, 2 for election to the Council in class (d) (student members), and (ii) Statute C, I, 4 for election to the General Board in class (d) (student members), and it has been certified to her that each candidate has consented to be nominated in the category shown:


Category (i) – All eligible students (2 places)


Nominated by

Mansigani, Rahul, R

James Counsell, SID, Lydia Green, SID, Chris Lillycrop, CTH, Emma Violet Makinson, R, Joseph Ruiz, PET, Phoebe So, R, Gerard Tully, TH, Grayden Webb, CHU.

Mumtaz, Amina, LC

Antonia Bevan, CL, Parul Bhandari, ED, Holly Grimes, LC, Rahul Mansigani, R, Rebecca Talmy, Q, Gerard Tully, TH, Sam Wakeford, TH, Morgan Wild, SID.


Rui-Yang Ang, EM, Joseph Edwards, EM, Zac Kenton, EM, Abhishek Kumar, EM, Billy Liu, EM, Jake Maughan, EM, Sophie Mawhinney, EM, Joseph May, EM.

Wakeford, Sam, TH

George Bate, JN, Antonia Bevan, CL, Sarah de Lacy, CHR, Thomas Gillespie, T, William Hogg, JE, Duncan McCoy, CAI, Aneesha Nirmalan, JN, Charlotte Sleight, CTH.

Category (ii) – All eligible graduate students (1 place)


Nominated by

Andrews, Anthony, SID

Parul Bhandari, ED, Uven Chong, W, Lydia Fairhurst, W, Jakob Mauritz, SID, Amina Mumtaz, LC, Ethan R. Sanders, SE, Eva Smit, Q, Nikolaos Theodorakis, SE.

WARD, Joshua Mark, ED

Kathryn Auckland, CC, Graham L. Banes, DAR, Peter G. Brereton, ED, Christina Eichstaedt, LC, Molly Fox, CAI, Simeon Innocent, CLH, Ruth Levine, ED, Yun-Hua Lo, F.

General Board

Category (i) – All eligible undergraduate students (1 place)


Nominated by


Anna Campbell, PEM, Claire Garnett, CC, Deborah Hannaway, JN, Benedict James Wilson, M, Chris Meurice, CC, Rebecca Minio-Paluello, CL, Johannes Snape, CC, Rachel Thomas, CHR.

Category (ii) – All eligible graduate students (1 place)

No nominations were received in this category.

Voting will take place in Colleges on Thursday, 11 March 2010 to elect two representatives to the Council in class (d) category (i) – All eligible students, and to elect one representative to the Council in class (d) category (ii) – All eligible graduate students. The hours of voting in each College shall be determined by College Returning Officers, but the polls must be open for at least four hours within the period 8.30 a.m. to 7 p.m., including 12.30 p.m. to 1.30 p.m. and 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.

There being only one nomination for election to the General Board in class (d) category (i) – All eligible undergraduate students, Ms Helmling is hereby declared elected. As no nominations were received for election to the General Board in class (d) category (ii) a further election will be held. Details will be published in due course.

Fee liability of graduate students: Notice by the Board of Graduate Studies

Graduate Students given leave to work away from Cambridge have not, for some years, been required to pay a University Composition Fee. The General Board review of graduate education that reported in 2007 recommended (a) that a fee (permitted under the existing regulations) should be charged during such periods since the students involved remain entitled to supervision and the use of central facilities; (b) that resources derived from these fees should be made available to support those students working away who do not have alternative means of support. The Board of Graduate Studies support these proposals. They estimate that at steady state an additional fee income of about £1m will be generated, of which 80% should be made available to Schools to support graduate students who are working away. The Board also consider that graduate students studying for a Ph.D. Degree should know in advance the total fee liability. The Board, with the concurrence of the General Board, have accordingly agreed that Graduate Students should be liable for the University Composition Fee for each term up to the minimum number of terms required for the qualification. This means, for example, that the maximum period for which a candidate for the Ph.D., M.Litt., or M.Sc. Degree is required to pay a fee is nine terms. Fees already paid by a student in respect of an M.Phil. or M.Res. course do not count toward the nine-term maximum period. The University Composition Fee may still be waived or reduced by the Board of Graduate Studies (i) under exceptional circumstances, (ii) for those terms during which a student is working at another institution where a fee is payable, and (iii) for those terms in which a student intermits her or his studies. The Board have agreed that the proposed change in fee liability should apply to Graduate Students commencing their courses on or after 1 October 2010.

The Board have also agreed, in line with the recommendations of the review, that a student who has not completed her or his dissertation in the nine-term period should remain on the register of Graduate Students, without any further fee liability, until the end of her or his twelfth term so as to provide a writing-up period if required.

The Council has agreed to submit Graces (Graces 2 and 4, p. 645) to propose the necessary amendment to the regulations for University Composition Fees (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 159) and the general regulations for admission as a Graduate Student (Statutes and Ordinances, p. 436) to enable this change in fee liability.

University Offices Easter closing: Notice

The Council has authorized the closure of the University Offices from 6 p.m. on Thursday, 1 April, until 8 a.m. on Tuesday, 6 April. The University Messenger Service will not operate during the period of closure.

Language Centre Easter closing: Notice

The Director gives notice that the Language Centre (the John Trim Centre for Independent Learning) will be closed for the Easter period from 4 p.m. on Friday, 26 March, until 10 a.m. on Monday, 12 April 2010.