< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Members' English Fund

Statutes and Ordinances, 2008, p. 831


The Members' English Prize will be offered for the best M.Phil. dissertation submitted the previous year. Candidates for the Prize must be graduate students working under the supervision of the Degree Committee for the Faculty of English, who were admitted as graduate students no earlier than 1 August 2007.

The Managers of the Members' English Fund will award the prize before the beginning of the Full Lent Term 2009.


The Degree Committee of the Faculty of English invite applications for a Members' English Fund Scholarship for the furtherance of research in literature (current value £1,250) tenable from 1 January 2009. Applications must be sent to the Secretary of the Graduate Funding Committee to arrive not later than 31 October 2008. Eligible are all postgraduates in their second, third, or fourth year of research under the aegis of the Degree Committee of the Faculty of English. Copies of the application details may be obtained from the Secretary of the Graduate Funding Committee, Faculty of English, 9 West Road, Cambridge, CB3 9DP.

The successful applicant will be nominated by the Graduate Funding Committee in the Michaelmas Term. The Scholarship will be of one year's tenure; current and former holders will be able to re-apply, but will not be privileged in subsequent competitions.


Applications for grants in aid of research in English or a cognate subject are invited from M.Phil. Students. An application must fully explain the purpose for which a grant is needed and must include a statement of any other sources of assistance to which application has been made. Applications for grants are available from the Secretary, Graduate Funding Committee, English Faculty Funds, 9 West Road, Cambridge, CB3 9DP, to whom they should be returned when completed. Applications must be submitted by either 15 October 2008 or 15 April 2009.

< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Cambridge University Reporter 07 November 2008
Copyright © 2011 The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge.