< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Philosophical Society

Professor A. W. Cuthbert, FRS, of the Department of Medicine, will deliver a lecture, entitled Treatment of disease by gene therapy - progress with cystic fibrosis, at 8.30 p.m. on Monday, 20 November, in the Cockcroft Lecture Theatre, New Museums Site. All who are interested are invited. The presentation of the Prize Research Fellowship will take place before the lecture.

At a meeting held on 6 November, Professor A. Howie, President, was in the Chair. Sixty-three Fellows were elected. (During 2000 a total of 175 Fellows have been elected and fifteen have been re-elected.) Professor A. Clarke, of the British Antarctic Survey, delivered a lecture, entitled Life at the edge: the evolution and adaptation of polar organisms. A vote of thanks was moved by Dr Martin Wells.


The Annual General Meeting of the Society was held on Monday, 30 October 2000 in the Arts School, Bene't Street, at 4.30 p.m.

Professor A. Howie, President, was in the Chair.

1. The Treasurer presented the audited accounts for the period January to December 1999.
2. The following Officers and Members of Council were elected for the year 2001:

President: Professor A. Howie.

President-Elect: Professor T. M. Cox.

Vice-Presidents: Professor J. S. Parker, Dr A. J. Munro, Professor K. Glover.

Treasurer: Dr A. V. Edwards.

Secretaries: Dr A. M. Campbell (Physical), Dr C. L.-H. Huang (Biological), Dr J. M. E. Hyland (Mathematical).

Ordinary Members of Council who continue: Dr D. B. Norman, Professor J. D. Mollon, Dr D. E. Bowyer, Dr C. Y. Barlow.

New Ordinary Members of Council, 2001: Dr D. Husain, Dr R. G. Boutilier, Dr B. T. Grenfell, Sir Sam Edwards, Professor M. F. Ashby, Professor T. J. Pedley, Professor A. W. Cuthbert, Dr A. G. Smith.

3. Twenty-five Fellows were elected and three were re-elected. It was reported that since the last Annual General Meeting thirteen Fellows had died and 181 had resigned.
4. Messrs Peters Elworthy and Moore were appointed to act as Auditors for the year 2000.


A one-day meeting on Inference and learning will be held in the Pippard Lecture Theatre, Cavendish Laboratory on Monday, 4 December, starting at 10 a.m. This will be an interdisciplinary meeting open to all members of the University. The speakers are Professor Simon Laughlin, FRS, Dr John Skilling, Professor John Hopfield, Dr Gerard Bricogne, Dr Tom Duke, Professor Geoffrey Hinton, FRS, Dr Luca Turin, and Professor Harry Bhadeshia, FRS.

Applications should be made in writing to Mrs Carol Marples, Executive Secretary, Cambridge Philosophical Society, Bene't Street, Cambridge, CB2 3PY (or e-mail camphilossoc@lib.cam.ac.uk), for the full programme. The first 120 Fellows of the Society to apply will be offered a free lunch.

< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Cambridge University Reporter, 15 November 2000
Copyright © 2011 The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge.