< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Elections, appointments, and reappointments

The following elections, appointments, and reappointments have been made:


Mr J. C. Smith, M.A., CHR, Ph.D., London, FRS, Head of the Genes and Cellular Controls Group and of the Division of Developmental Biology, the National Institute of Medical Research, London, elected as a John Humphrey Plummer Professor and appointed as Chairman of the Wellcome/CRC Institute of Cancer and Developmental Biology from 1 October 2001.

Professor N. K. H. Slater, M.A., Ph.D., SID., CEng, FIChemE, Professor of Chemical Engineering, Aston University, elected Professor of Chemical Engineering (1999) from a date to be determined.

Professor G. Winskel, M.A., Sc.D., EM, M.Sc., Oxford, Ph.D., Edinburgh, Professor of Computer Science and Director of the Centre for Basic Research in Computer Science, University of Aarhus, Denmark, elected Professor of Computer Science from 1 October 2000.

Professor J. G. Castañeda, B.A., Princeton, M.A., Ph.D, Paris, Professor in the Department of Political Science, National Autonomous University of Mexico, elected the Simón Bolívar Professor of Latin American Studies for the academical year 2000-01.


University Assistant Lecturer

Social and Political Sciences. Mr P. J. Martin, B.A., M.Phil., D.Phil., Oxford, appointed from 1 January 2000 for three years.

Assistant Under-Librarian

University Library. Mr J. D. Wells, M.A., TH, appointed from 1 December 1999 for three years.

Senior Assistant Treasurer

University Offices (Finance Division). Miss B. E. Gander, B.A., Lancaster, appointed from 1 February 2000 for three years.

Administrative Officers

University Offices (General Board Division). Mrs L. J. Whitebread, B.A., Keele, M.B.A., Open, appointed Administrative Officer, Grade II, with duties in the Institute of Criminology, from 1 January 2000 for three years.

University Offices (Registry Division). Ms A. Tasker, M.A., ED, appointed Administrative Officer, Grade II, from 1 January 2000 for three years.

Head of Department

Anglo-Saxon, Norse, and Celtic. The General Board, on the recommendation of the Faculty Board of English, have appointed Professor S. D. Keynes, T, to be Head of the Department of Anglo-Saxon, Norse, and Celtic from 1 October 1999 for five years.


University Assistant Lecturer

Biological Anthropology. Dr G. T. H. Ellison reappointed from 1 October 2000 for two years.


McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research. Professor Lord Renfrew, JE, reappointed from 1 June 2000 to 30 September 2004.

< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Cambridge University Reporter, 15 December 1999
Copyright © 2011 The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge.