< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Congregation of the Regent House on Tuesday, 29 June 1999: Notice

20 April 1999

The Vice-Chancellor gives notice that a Congregation will take place on Tuesday, 29 June 1999, at which The Chancellor will confer the following Honorary Degrees:

Doctor of Divinity

The Most Reverend DESMOND MPILO TUTU, Emeritus Archbishop of Cape Town, and lately Robert W. Woodruff Visiting Professor of Theology at Emory University, Atlanta.

Doctor of Law

LI KA-SHING, C.B.E., Chairman of Cheung Kong (Holdings) Ltd, and of Hutchison Whampoa Ltd.

SADAKO OGATA, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Doctor of Science

The Hon MIRIAM LOUISA ROTHSCHILD, C.B.E., F.R.S., Research scientist.

CÉSAR MILSTEIN, C.H., Ph.D., F.R.S., Honorary Fellow of Fitzwilliam College, Emeritus Fellow of Darwin College, formerly Head of the Division of Protein and Nucleic Acid Chemistry, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge.

GORDON MOORE, Co-founder of Intel Corporation.

Doctor of Letters

ANTONIA SUSAN BYATT, C.B.E., B.A., F.R.S.L., of Newnham College, author.

JÜRGEN HABERMAS, D.Phil., Emeritus Professor of Sociology and Philosophy in the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main.

SIR COLIN ALEXANDER ST JOHN WILSON, M.A., R.A., F.R.I.B.A., F.R.S.A., Emeritus Professor of Architecture, Emeritus Fellow of Pembroke College, Honorary Fellow of Corpus Christi and Churchill Colleges.

Members of the University and their guests will need to be in their places in the Senate-House not later than 11.10 a.m. If it is fine, a procession will form in the Schools Arcade at 11.05 a.m. Those in the categories listed below who wish to process must give notice of their intention, and tickets will be issued to them up to the number of places available. The Congregation will end at about 12.30 p.m.


Tuesday 29 June 1999 will be a 'scarlet' day, and Doctors in the several Faculties are asked to wear their festal gowns. Hoods are worn at the Congregation. In accordance with revised Regulation 4 for academical dress (Reporter, 1997-98, pp. 387 and 567), any member of the University (other than The Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, the High Steward, the Deputy High Steward, the Commissary, the Proctors, the Registrary, the Orator, the Esquire Bedells or the graduands) who holds a degree of another university or degree-awarding institution, may, on this occasion, wear the academical dress appropriate to that degree.

Admission to the Congregation

Admission to the Senate-House and Yard will be strictly by ticket only. The only entrance on this occasion will be by the South-East Gate, from King's Parade.

Applications for tickets, which must be made in writing, and must give the names of all those for whom tickets are requested, should be sent to Mr Geoffrey Skelsey, Principal Assistant Registrary, at the Old Schools, to arrive not later than Wednesday, 9 June 1999. No other applications can be entertained.

Those in the categories specified below, who wish to take part in the procession, are asked to state this clearly in their applications. Tickets will be issued to them, up to the number of places available.

Other members of the University, including those in statu pupillari, may apply for tickets for themselves and, if they wish, for one guest in each case, whose name and address must be given.

Tickets will be allocated strictly in the order in which applications are received, and will be despatched about one week before the Congregation. Applicants will understand that there may be more applications than places are available. Those who find that they cannot use their tickets are asked to return them so that their seats may be offered to others.

Further details of the arrangements will be included with the tickets.

No tickets for admission to Senate-House Yard will be available on the day of the Congregation. Tickets are not transferable.

Order of Processions

After consulting the Proctors, the Vice-Chancellor has prescribed the following order of processions prior to the Congregation.

Those listed below (who have tickets to admit them to the procession, as specified above) should assemble in the Schools Arcade by 11.05 a.m. (entering by the South-East Gate from King's Parade).

The Vice-Marshal
Heads of Colleges
The Regius Professor of Divinity
The Regius Professor of Civil Law
The Regius Professor of Physic
The Regius Professor of Hebrew
The Regius Professor of Greek
Professors who are full Doctors
Doctors of Divinity
Doctors of Law
Doctors of Medicine
Doctors of Science and Doctors of Letters
Doctors of Music
The Librarian
Professors who are not full Doctors
The Treasurer
The Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum
The Secretary General of the Faculties
Members of the Council
The Pro-Proctors

A second procession will then form as follows, and will proceed immediately after the first:

The Esquire Bedells
The Chancellor
The Chancellor's Page
The University Marshal
The Registrary    The Vice-Chancellor    The Orator
The Proctors
The High Steward
The Deputy High Steward
The Commissary
The Pro-Vice-Chancellors
The Honorary Graduands
The University Constables

< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Cambridge University Reporter, 21 April 1999
Copyright © 1999 The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge.