< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

General, and related to more than one subject

Allen, Meek and Read Scholarships: Notice

Statutes and Ordinances, 1997, pp. 679 and 682

The Scholarships are open to holders of a degree of the University of Cambridge or the certificate of Advanced Study in Mathematics who propose to undertake research as registered Graduate Students in any branch of study within the University.

The value of each Scholarship awarded is determined by the Electors. The current minimum value is £500 but this may be supplemented. The maximum value of any award thus supplemented will not normally exceed the maximum value of a Research Maintenance Grant.

Applications for any of these Scholarships must be sent to the office of the Committee on Grants, 4 Mill Lane, Cambridge, CB2 1RZ, so as to arrive not later than 1 May 1998. Each application must be forwarded through the applicant's Tutor and must be on the prescribed form. Copies of the application form may be obtained from the office of the Board of Graduate Studies, 4 Mill Lane.

Scholars may apply for another award on not more than two occasions provided that the period of tenure does not exceed three years in all and does not extend beyond the Scholar's twelfth term of research as a registered Graduate Student. Scholars must re-apply on the prescribed form.

By generous donation from Trinity College, supplementary awards analogous to the Allen, Meek and Read Scholarships will be available in competition to applicants at certain Colleges* who meet the eligibility criteria for those awards and who are eligible, but have applied unsuccessfully, for a UK Research Council or British Academy Studentship carrying fees and full maintenance.

* The Colleges included for 1997 were Christ's, Churchill, Clare, Clare Hall, Corpus Christi, Darwin, Downing, Emmanuel, Fitzwilliam, Girton, Hughes Hall, Lucy Cavendish, Magdalene, New Hall, Newnham, Pembroke, Peterhouse, Queens', Robinson, St Catharine's, St Edmund's, Selwyn, Sidney Sussex, Trinity Hall, and Wolfson.

< Previous page ^ Table of Contents Next page >

Reporter Special No 7: Awards, Funds, Studentships, and Prizes - 12th November 1997
Copyright © 1997 The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Cambridge.