The Chancellor

In the UK university system, the office of Chancellor is held by a distinguished individual, from academia or public life, who is not usually resident and does not hold any other University office. The Chancellor of the University of Cambridge is Lord Sainsbury of Turville, who was elected in a ballot of the Senate in October 2011. The Chancellor is responsible under the Statutes for adjudicating in certain disputes, and is Visitor of several of the Cambridge Colleges. The Chancellor also presides at major ceremonies - the best-known being the annual ceremony for the conferment of Honorary Degrees.

List of former Chancellors

Date elected Name
c.1246 Hugh de Hottun
1256 Reginald de Gerninghall
1259 William de Ludham
1260 Richard de Gedney
1261 Richard Dryfield
1267 John de Asgarby
1270-75 John Hooke
1276 Roger de Fulbourn
1283-84 Andrew de Gisleham
1286 Thomas de Sheringham [Skeringham]
1287 Stephen de Hepworth
1289 Ralph de Leicester
1290-92 Geoffrey de Pakenham
1293-94 Henry de Bolton
1295 John de Bradenham
1296 Thomas de Sheringham [Skeringham] [again]
1298 Thomas de Sheringham [Skeringham] [again]
1300-01 Stephen de Haslingfield
1303 Stephen de Haslingfield [again]
1306 Stephen de Segrave
1307 Stephen de Segrave [again]
1315 Richard de Aston
1320 Roger de Northburgh
1326 Richard de Badew
1329 Thomas de Foxton
c.1330 Robert de Wynwyk
1331 John de Langley
1334 Robert de Mildenhall
1335-36 Henry de Herewarden
1337 Richard de Harling
1339 Richard de Harling [again]
1340 Robert de Claydon
1341 Thomas de Northwood
1344 Thomas de Northwood [again]
1345 Richard de Harling [again]
1346-48 John de Crakhall
1348 Thomas de Grantchester
1348 William de Lymbergh
1349 Richard de Wetherset [Wetheringsett], alias de Cantabrigia
1349 Richard de Harling [again]
1351 Richard de Harling [again]
1352 Anthony de Grantchester
1352-59 William Tynkell
1359 Thomas de Sutton
1360 Richard de Wetherset [Wetheringsett] [again]
c.1361 Michael de Haynton
1361-63 Michael de Cawston
1366 William de Gotham
1369 Thomas de Stewkley
1371 John de Dunwich
1373 Adam de Lakynheth
1374 John de Dunwich [again]
1376 William de Gotham [again]
1378 Richard Le Scrope
1380 Guy de la Zouch
1381 Sir John de Cavendish
1382 John de Bromyard [Dominican]
1382 Guy de la Zouch [again]
1383 John de Neketon
1384 John de Burgh
1388 William Colvile
1390 Richard de Dereham
1390 William Colvile
1391 William Colvile [again]
1392 John de Neketon [again]
1394 William Colvile [again]
1396 Guy de la Zouch [again]
1400 Richard de Billingford
1402 Richard de Billingford [again]
1404 Richard de Dereham [again]
1408 Richard de Dereham [again]
1409 Richard de Billingford [again]
1412 Thomas Ashwell [name surmised]
1413 Richard de Billingford [again]
1414 Stephen Le Scrope
1415-21 John de Rickingale
1422 Thomas de Cobham
1424-25 Robert Fitzhugh
1426 William Wymbell
1427-28 Marmaduke Lumley
1429-30 John de Holbroke [died 1430]
1430 John de Rickingale [again]
1431 William Lascells
1432 Richard de Billingford [again]
1433-35 Richard Cawdrey
1436-43 John de Langton
1445 Nicholas de Kenton
1447 John de Langton [again]
1447-48 Robert de Ascough
1450 Nicholas Close
1451, 53, 55 William Percy [son of the Earl of Northumberland]
1456-58 Laurence Booth
1458 William Wilflett
1459-60 Robert Woodlark
1461 Richard Scroope
1462 Robert Woodlark [again]
1463 John Booth
1464 William Wilflett [again]
1465 John, Herrison
1466 William Wilflett [again]
1468 Edward Story
1469 Thomas Rotherham
1470 Edward Story [again]
1473, 75, 78 Rotherham, Thomas [again]
1479 John Boynton
1483 Thomas Rotherham [again]
1485 Thomas Northwood
1488 Richard Badew
1490 Thomas Cosyn
1494-95 John Blythe
1496 John Fitzhugh [perhaps George, see 1502]
1500 Richard Fox
1502 George Fitzhugh
1503 Thomas Ruthall [Rowthall]
1504 John Fisher
1514 John Fisher
1535 Thomas Cromwell
1539 Stephen Gardiner
1547 Edward, Duke of Somerset Seymour
1552 John, Duke of Northumberland Dudley
1553 Stephen Gardiner [again]
1556 Cardinal Reginald Pole
1559 William Cecil, Lord Burghley
1598 Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex
1601 Robert Cecil, Earl of Salisbury
1612 Henry Howard, Earl of Northampton
1613 Thomas Howard [2], Earl of Suffolk
1626 George Villiers, Duke of Buckingham
1627 Henry Rich, Earl of Holland
1648 Edward Montagu, Earl of Manchester
1651 Oliver St John
1660 Edward Montagu, Earl of Manchester [restored]
1671 George Villiers [2], Duke of Buckingham
1674 James Scott, Duke of Monmouth
1682 Christopher Monck [Monk], Duke of Albemarle
1689 Charles Seymour, Duke of Somerset
1748 Thomas Holles Pelham, Duke of Newcastle
1768 Augustus Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Grafton
1811 HRH Prince William Frederick, Duke of Gloucester and Edinburgh
1834 John Jeffreys Pratt, Marquis of Camden
1840 Hugh Percy, Duke of Northumberland
1847 HRH Prince Albert, The Prince Consort
1861 William Cavendish, Duke of Devonshire
1892 Spencer Compton Cavendish, Duke of Devonshire
1908 John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh
1919 Arthur James Balfour, Earl Balfour
1930 Stanley Baldwin, Earl Baldwin of Bewdley
1948-50 Jan Christiaan Smuts, Field Marshal
1951 Arthur William Tedder, Lord Tedder
1967 Edgar Douglas Adrian, Lord Adrian
1977 HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh
2011 Lord Sainsbury of Turville